New to forum and new to... [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : New to forum and new to...

yafreax
11-13-2003, 01:11 PM
working on cars... My dad and i never worked on any growing up so it wasn't until i needed to save some money on some easy stuff like oil changes, replacing brake pads and the like. And since i've never done it i have a friend who was a mechanic for a few years help me out.

so first to get my 2 q's out of the way:
1.) for my past 2 cars, i was able to buy a book that had instructions on replacing everything and doing pretty much all of the mechanical work. The kind you can get at pretty much any auto zone type store... i havent found one for the '01 GA, anyone know where i can get it?

2.) Like i said, i'm REALLY a newb at working on cars... from what i'm gathering, the GA 2.4 4cyl is the same as the alero? so intakes and the likes that work on an alero work on mine?

Now for the details. I bought a used 2001 GA SE 2.4L (automatic) about 6 weeks ago. It's a cool car, but it's still only 4 cyl... not quite enough power to keep me interested. This was, after all, my first car where i didnt have to think about getting a family type, since we already have that (01' mazda protege if you were wondering). So i was just looking around at some GA sites, really looking for the manual i spoke of above, and found all these mod sites for GA's. They really got my heart thumpin and now i'm stoked about putting some work into it and making it a really enjoyable car. Sure i can never match the 3.4L, but i can get a lot closer. First i want to do the power things, then some exterior, then we'll see how it goes from there.