Should I buy my grandma's 2002 SE? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Should I buy my grandma's 2002 SE?

jdircksen
11-25-2003, 08:01 PM
I'm a college student, living in the city with heavy traffic and door dents. Right now I have a 1995 Saturn SC2 that gets me around, is quick enough for me (125hp), doesn't get door dents (it's plastic) and is easy to park. When I bought this car 6 months ago, I told myself it would be my beater to get me through college.

Fast forward to now, and since my grandma's death, I have the opportunity to buy her car. Its a white 2002 Grand AM SE, 11,000 miles, 170hp, absolute mint condition, limo tint, keyless entry, spoiler, CD player. I can buy the car for $6000. KBB trade in is about $8000. The only things this car doesn't have that I wish it did are a sunroof and ram air. With the Grand AM, I'd also lose gas mileage (my Saturn is a 5-speed).

So I'm faced with a delima. Should I buy the Grand AM, keep it forever, or sell it in a couple years and maybe get what I have in it back out? Or should I just keep the Saturn and let the opportunity pass?

Thanks for the input.

If I were to buy the Grand AM, what kind of reliablity can I expect? All I've had are imports that last 150,000 miles. I hear that most domestics blow the head gasket after 80,000. Is there anything (service-wise) I should be looking forward to?

UNCTYPE-S
11-25-2003, 10:05 PM
if ur looking to save some cash then keep the saturn, but if ur looking for a more reliable car i would say go for it. 11,000 miles on a 2002 for 6k is excellent in my book. as far as the car goes. it must be an se1 or se2 to have 170 hp. missing the sunroof i can understand but your not missing anything with not having "ram air".

it is pretty much pointless to have it, waste of plastic and you wont notice a difference until u reach like 80mph anyway. if u want to know more about ram air just do a search on here for it and u will see why.