dumb question on plugs/ wires [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : dumb question on plugs/ wires

AlphaSig312
01-22-2004, 10:42 PM
Aight, i know this is a dumba$$ question, but being as i have never done this before, i figured it ask. How do i check my plug and wires? Or a better way to put it is.... what do i look for with them, to see if they need replaced?

.......on a random side note, my change oil light is on, and cant be reset and my oil level is fine. I appreciate all the help with helping my dumba$$ out. Hell, if u lived in Pittsburgh and wanted to show me how to do it... id evern buy u case of beer.. lol... peace.

AaronGAGT
01-23-2004, 12:58 AM
Well for the wires... look for cracking, old wear and tear, etc.
For plugs... well the only way would be to take them all out and inspect. If there's tons of corrosion or anything, i'd replace them.

Why cant your change oil light be reset? You sure you're doing it right? Its in the manual btw.

killerhound
01-23-2004, 02:15 AM
Turn your ignition to "On", but don't crank the engine.
In the driver's side fuse panel, after the "Change oil" light is lit on the dash, press the red reset button. The Change opil light should start flashing. Press and hold the reset button. The light should go out.

Another way is to turn the igniton to "On" as stated above. Press the gas pedal three times, and you should hear a chime from your speakers, and the light should go out.

AlphaSig312
01-23-2004, 02:33 AM
thanks... yeah. i tried resetting it like it says to in the book, and it just stays lit... odd... but i can live with it... ill try that second way... when i go out to my car after work.. thanks.

71Z28RS
01-23-2004, 08:31 AM