Increasing Idle [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Increasing Idle


Agostinelli
03-25-2004, 12:02 PM
Does anybody know how to increase the idle of our cars?

Dr_Kyle
03-25-2004, 12:04 PM
There is a torx screw on the throttle body that will allow you to adjust the idle.

Kdawg207
03-25-2004, 12:32 PM
Kyle...do you know what size??

Also, are there any specifics on how much to turn it...I was thinking about raising the idle ever so slightly...but don't wanna over do it....
Thanks

mr_eh
03-25-2004, 12:34 PM
ta-rial and error

MikeSilverGT
03-25-2004, 12:42 PM
Yeah, "Smoke test," if it starts smoking you went too far. :D

Blackrider
03-25-2004, 03:05 PM
Why do you want to rais your idle?

Dr_Kyle
03-25-2004, 04:10 PM
^^ werd.

The computer should regulate the idle just fine via the IAC. It is just trial and error if you choose to manually adjust it.

blk_grn_97GT
03-26-2004, 06:35 AM
i was actually tweaking on mine with a friend that is into stangs hardcore but we were adjusting the throttle position sensor to try and help out the hesitation, the plus was it worked but had to turn it back because the idle was to high, anyone ever messed with this before?

Agostinelli
03-26-2004, 03:26 PM
I want to adjust the idle cause my wife said that he makes her horny.

Dr_Kyle
03-26-2004, 04:39 PM
WTF are you talking about?

mr_eh
03-26-2004, 04:49 PM
its like sitting on a washing machine during the spin cycle...

dont adjust your idle!

Blackrider
03-26-2004, 04:55 PM
Originally posted by mr_eh
its like sitting on a washing machine during the spin cycle...

dont adjust your idle!

Exactly why his wife likes it ;)

Get Engine mounts and a high idle, thats bad.