How To Replace Alternator?? [Archive] - Forum


View Full Version : How To Replace Alternator??

04-06-2004, 06:00 AM
I have never had to do this beleive it or not..

Can someone briefly explain the process....I understand it is somewhat easy.

Thank you

04-06-2004, 06:28 AM
It just takes time....Its pretty straight forward since it sits on top of the engine. Just unbolt it and bolt on the new one....The hardest part for me was retensioning the belt.......I used a golf club :p

04-06-2004, 06:49 AM
any sites that have good deals??

04-06-2004, 07:14 AM
will this work....middle one...bottom

04-06-2004, 07:39 AM
^ anyone know....i will get one if it is right

04-06-2004, 07:58 AM
i get mine on thrusday, got it from

04-06-2004, 08:00 AM
^ kewl...but i think the link i posted is the same exact one...for 40 bux less than mralternator...that's why i am asking

04-06-2004, 08:08 AM
160 amp
got mine powder coated as well

04-06-2004, 09:07 AM
The hardest part is getting the serpentine belt off. There's a notch on the belt tensioner that is designed to fit a half inch breaker bar to release the tension. It's a square hole at the bottom of the tensioner. You insert your bar push it or pull it I can't remember just now until the tension is released and then pull the belt off. Piece of cake after that. It took me a whole ten minutes to replace mine. It's obviously a good time to change your belt if need be too.

04-06-2004, 09:23 AM
so...just so i am positive....

since my battery is brand new...and the car won't keep a's the altenator right

when jump started it runs...

but then the next day or so....dead again

04-06-2004, 09:35 AM
Our cars are notorious for the alternator going out. If your battery is brand new I would say it's definitely the alternator. I wasted buying a new battery when it ended up being the alternator too. I would definitely recommend doing this yourself. As a side note most places will charge you a core charge until you return them your old alternator.

04-06-2004, 09:41 AM
i got a guy down the block...mechanic at a service spot...he's good on prices....i have zero

but at least i am pretty positive that I am not blowing the money on an alternator that i dont need

my battery is a brand new red top it's not that

04-06-2004, 09:50 AM
The only other thing you need to check is if something is being left on a night. I found one time that someone had left on the little lights in the back seat on the dome. Kept draining my battery. I'm almost positive it's your alternator though. But your car is only a year old. Kinda strange. Are you over mileage? It should be covered under warranty if not.

04-06-2004, 09:54 AM
^^^ Pretty weird since the car will shut off the power after 15 minutes (rundown protection I think it's called).

Just thought I'd note, make sure your battery is fully charged before starting your car with the new alternator! If you don't you have a good chance of frying the alternator since it's working extra hard to charge the drained battery.

Edit: yeah, if you're still under warranty, let the dealer do it for you!

04-06-2004, 10:02 AM
Get the wiring upgraded when the alt is replaced..

04-06-2004, 10:11 AM
no warranty dealer is a look at my accessories and no will allow for an upgraded sense in replacing with crap

seth: any info on that wiring you mentioned...

04-06-2004, 10:13 AM
wiring upgrade (

04-06-2004, 10:17 AM
not exactly helping me...i know nothing on this....

what wires exactly do i need to upgrade...and upgrade it to there an upgrade kit

04-06-2004, 10:59 AM
SO if I upgrade the wire from the alt to the battery to 4 guage...I should be i need to upgrade the other wires...ground etc...
is it a must

04-06-2004, 11:45 AM
if i have 0 gauge going to the back for audio and 0 gauge for the the ground(using top posts of yellow top)
should i use 0 gauge for the alt?

04-12-2004, 10:17 AM
New question...same topic

Brand new alternator. 3 month old optima red top. Car dead again

What it could be ....maybe the battery is defective...but i have never heard of a bad optima....

some insight would be helpful

04-12-2004, 01:32 PM
anyone? could it be the wires from alt. to battery

04-12-2004, 01:37 PM
voltmeter on the battery terminals.. read when the car is running, and off, and post back plz. could be the battery def.

04-12-2004, 01:44 PM
ok...gotta gelt a volt meter :)
it's dead now...should i jump it, let it run, then do what you said

thank god for company cars

04-13-2004, 04:42 AM
ok...gotta gelt a volt meter :)
it's dead now...should i jump it, let it run, then do what you said

thank god for company cars

yeah, do that, and post the numbers here

04-13-2004, 05:06 AM
Did you make sure the battery was fully charged before starting it with the new alternator?

04-13-2004, 07:18 AM
yup yup

04-13-2004, 07:21 AM
I forgot -

Once you get readings when the car is on and off. Turn the headlights or something that draws power when the cars off and read again. It might sit at 12 volts with the car off, then when you turn somethin on, drop big time.

04-13-2004, 08:18 AM
^ do that with the car off??

04-13-2004, 11:44 AM
just had someone replace my alt, took him all of about 30 minutes, and thats with him working on other cars at same time. was going to replace power wire but i was in a hurry and he showed me how to do myself, so ill do it later. the only thing i could see that would be difficult would be if you dont have an air socket wrench. everything looked pretty striaght forward