2.4L Swap with a 3.1L [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : 2.4L Swap with a 3.1L


cj7_dagreat1
04-26-2004, 02:44 PM
My 2.4L went out on me and I want to replace it. I was thinking about putting a 3.1L in it and was wondering how much trouble it would be. I realize the motor mounts will have to be changed, but what else would I have to change, and would it be worth it to put put a 3.1L in it instead of the 2.4L it came with?

mr_eh
04-26-2004, 02:48 PM
not really, the 2.4 has amazing capabilities as does the v6, it depends what you want to do with the car... its probably not worth the headache in a 97 ga especially since, you seem like you have no idea what you are doing

95-GT
04-26-2004, 05:39 PM
Well lets see, wiring, computer and thats about it. lol

But honestly, your better off putting a 3400 in there instead of a 3100. Tranny should bolt up, but are you running the 4T60E or the 5-speed?