How do I remove govenor?? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : How do I remove govenor??


JawnyRico
06-04-2004, 11:38 AM
Just a question to all you intelligent mechanics out there. My car tops out at 110mph. I am only guessing that my "govenor" is stopping me from going any further. Any suggestions on how to remove that. Or where it is. I've heard its located under the passenger side air bag. Is that true? I have a 98 Pontiac Grand Am GT. Thanks for any help.

mfuller
06-04-2004, 11:50 AM
The governor is controlled by the PCM, so you'd need to find someone (and pay them enough) to take it out for you. E-mail the guys at Digital Horsepower (http://www.digitalhorsepowerinc.com) and see if they can help you.

JawnyRico
06-04-2004, 12:04 PM
alright thanks

JawnyRico
06-07-2004, 11:35 AM
they never e-mailed back. can you go to a car shop and buy a new performance pcm?

Kdawg207
06-07-2004, 11:38 AM
no.....


i think the ase chip removes it too

JawnyRico
06-07-2004, 11:55 AM
is that something that you can add to the pcm or add that to something else?

JawnyRico
06-07-2004, 11:56 AM
also where can i get them? thanks

Kdawg207
06-07-2004, 12:09 PM
http://www.asechips.com/


site is down right now...i'm sure there's other places to buy it

Scooter
06-07-2004, 10:13 PM
If I'm thinking correctly, the speed signal to the PCM is a voltage right?

If that's the case...couldn't somebody just build a voltage clamp to clamp it at the 109mph voltage so that the PCM still thinks the car is going under the limiter, but in fact it's going faster?

I've thought about this off and on for a long long time, but never put the effort into impmlementing it.

Thoughts?