Power steering fluid [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Power steering fluid

AaronGAGT
06-09-2004, 10:48 AM
Im kinda low and I gotta go buy some. Owner's manual saya GM Power Steering Fluid... but I'm guessing that costs about $293478. Would I be safe just using some stuff they sell at the auto parts store??

Rba007
06-09-2004, 11:29 AM
Ive been running valvoline synthetic steering fluid for two years now. No problems.

Hexx
06-09-2004, 11:38 AM
It's DOT 3 **** right? That's what I used in my truck for brakes and steering. I think any DOT 3 would be fine.

AznGA
06-09-2004, 11:41 AM
I went to a GM dealer and bought a bottle. It was cheap.

AaronGAGT
06-09-2004, 04:20 PM
It's DOT 3 **** right? That's what I used in my truck for brakes and steering. I think any DOT 3 would be fine.

Hmm... whats DOT 3 and how do i find out??

AaronGAGT
06-09-2004, 04:21 PM
Ive been running valvoline synthetic steering fluid for two years now. No problems.

You think it'd be ok to mix that to my existing blend of fluid??

Hexx
06-09-2004, 05:53 PM
Let me correct myself. Don't use DOT 3 in the GA.

I just talked to my bro and he said the reason why I COULD use DOT 3 in my truck I used to have is because it had metal lines...he uses DOT3 in his camaro also and it is fine. I am not sure if we (Grand Ams) have metal or rubber hoses.

In the drivers manual I have for my 00GAGT, on page 7-21 it says to use GM Power Steering Fluid (GM Part No. 1052884 - 1 pint, 1050017 - 1 quart, or equivalent)

So listen to this post and not my other ones.

--Hexx

AaronGAGT
06-09-2004, 07:53 PM
Damn! So I cant opt for the Valvoline Max Life: Power Steering Fluid with Stop Leak formulated for higher mileage vehicles? lol cuz thats what i just bought.

Hey Yun... how much was the dealer stuff?

ALPINE99GAGT
06-09-2004, 09:21 PM
Damn! So I cant opt for the Valvoline Max Life: Power Steering Fluid with Stop Leak formulated for higher mileage vehicles? lol cuz thats what i just bought.