underdrive pulley.. where is the fly wheel [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : underdrive pulley.. where is the fly wheel

SportsSocc
06-13-2004, 05:04 PM
Ok, so i'm new to the whole mod thing and i decided to start with an underdrive pully from Fast Forward performance, well after reading the instructions sent by FFP and some givin by somebody i here it says to lodge a screwdriver into the flywheel to keep the crank from turning while u tighten the pully back onto the engine..... Where the heck is the flywheel located at?? cause i looked all over for it to keep it from spinning and get the pullly on all the way and i can't find it... thakns guys!

sweet98gagt
06-13-2004, 08:05 PM
um ure flywheel is inside of ure bellhousing which is off ure tranny.... why you'd have to do that is beyond me, but i've never done a pulley so i dunno

SportsSocc
06-14-2004, 09:25 AM
i dunno its to keep the crank from turning as ur tightening the crank pully on the end, casue u can get it so far and the crank just turns and the pully doesn't tighten all the way onto the shaft like its supposed to, so u have to keep the crank from turning. if u can think of another way to keep it from turning by all means share it!!!

jamcllw
06-14-2004, 09:33 AM
impact wrench

Hexx
06-14-2004, 09:34 AM
I would say if your pullies are still on......

Turn the car on, put it in drive, pull the e-brake, turn the car off (leave it in D....the key will not come out)...change the pully now. You should be able to tighten it I would assume because the force from it being in gear.

I've never changed a pully in my GA, so don't trust me 100% ;)

2002AmSE
06-15-2004, 10:03 PM