T-stat question [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : T-stat question


XtreemSix
06-21-2004, 08:13 AM
what is the difference between the hypertech t-stat and a generic brand 180* t-stat that i would get from a parts dept.? and if there isn't a difference would i be able to use a 165* t-stat or so...? thanx

Special Ross
06-21-2004, 09:16 AM
If the t-stat is made for the 3100/3400 it will work. I thought that there was an off brand t-stat that was made by the same ppl as hypertech. I would stay with 180*, if you wanted to go a little cooler, I would not go down to 160*.

XtreemSix
06-21-2004, 02:49 PM
i remembered why our engines doesn't like 160*'s....but i forgot lol
anyone know the off brand? :D

the brand(s) i saw were universal *scratches head*

Special Ross
06-22-2004, 01:46 PM
I believe that name was stant? Not 100% sure though... If you wanted to go cooler, you could try drilling tiny hole(s) in the stat. I'm not 100% sure if you would want to do this...

Kdawg207
06-22-2004, 01:52 PM
or dont bother with a Stat...wont matter a bit..unless you are going all out in modding your engine....waste of time

Special Ross
06-22-2004, 01:57 PM
or dont bother with a Stat...wont matter a bit..unless you are going all out in modding your engine....waste of time

I believe, that it helps with the infamous manifold gasket problem. I could be wrong, that is just what I heard.

XtreemSix
06-22-2004, 03:29 PM
k, well since that's out of the question now...i can save up for that DHP chip :D