APC air/ fuel ratio gauge???????????? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : APC air/ fuel ratio gauge????????????


trugt
06-24-2004, 07:36 AM
How do you hook up the air/fuel ratio gauge i got the apc and theres a negetive wire positive and a green wire as well as a couple wires hooked up to a small battery.

Craig99SE2
06-24-2004, 07:46 AM
Got a pic of the gauge? If it is the new one, you MUST have the matching APC Wideband O2 sensor to go with it or it will not work.

trugt
06-24-2004, 10:04 AM
the a/f goes up and down not side to side does that help? Ill try to find a pic on the net.

Craig99SE2
06-24-2004, 10:24 AM
Hmmm ... must be an older one. The new wideband looks like the AutoMeter A/F gauge with an LED digital readout in the middle.

If it is an older one, there should only be like 4-5 wires tops!

1. +12V - usually red
2. GND - usually black
3. Sensor In +
4. Sensor In - (Optional)
5. Lighting (Optional)

I would hook up Red and black to a battery and then touch the other ones to a 6V battery ... the one that makes the gauge move is the O2 Sensor + that wires to the pigtail.

trugt
06-26-2004, 08:06 AM
where is the o2 sensor?

Craig99SE2
06-26-2004, 11:07 AM
It is behind the engine on the downpipe. The connector is actually right behind the coil packs on the rear valve cover.

trugt
06-26-2004, 11:09 AM
so what wire do i hook it up to?

trugt
06-28-2004, 07:43 AM
I checked all the wires and it is still not working the paper said white wire(+) black wire(-) and green wire goes to sensor wire. what color or where is the sensor wire??????????

Craig99SE2
06-28-2004, 01:38 PM
It is the purple wire coming from the O2 sensor.

thehemi
06-28-2004, 03:01 PM
Does using a stock O2 sensor tell you anything?
I thought people installed wideband O2 sensors
because a factory O2 had a limited ohm range or
something and would not give precise info.

Craig99SE2
06-29-2004, 06:35 AM
Stock O2 is pretty much useless except for WOT. At normal cruising speeds, the computer bounces the signal so there is no intelligent data to be read. As for the wideband, you must have the entire package ... wideband and gauge. A/F with the stock sensor is more for the WOW factor than for tuning.

trugt
06-29-2004, 07:12 AM
alright ill try it when i get home from work thanx!! where do i get the o2 sensor you guys are talking about.

Craig99SE2
06-29-2004, 08:24 AM
Heh-heh ... a wideband system (sensor, wiring and gauge) will run you about $1000! The cheapest is the new APC one I was referring to in my first post in this thread which can be picked-up online for about $600.

trugt
07-01-2004, 12:09 PM
There was no purple wire. are you talking about the o2 sensor under the car or by the fire wall at least i think its the o2 sensor. sorry im new to the gagt world i used to have a cavalier and that was alot easier to work on.

Craig99SE2
07-01-2004, 01:56 PM
The one by the firewall. Between the plg and the sensor, there should be 4 wires ... 2 browns, 1 tan and 1 purple.