hardwiring a scanner??? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : hardwiring a scanner???


cableguyx
08-25-2004, 07:53 PM
If I were to hardwire in a scanner, would I just tap into my radio accessory wire and then ground it or is there a better/different way?

GAGTSCTGuy
08-25-2004, 08:04 PM
http://www.grandamgt.com/index.php?page=mods

same procedure as radar

cableguyx
08-25-2004, 08:58 PM
thanks

Rba007
08-25-2004, 10:08 PM
Thats highly illegal Btw. Just so ya know.

SC/TGrandAm
08-25-2004, 11:24 PM
is it illegal to posses a scanner or something? I didnt know it was illegal.

GAGTSCTGuy
08-26-2004, 03:03 AM
Doesn't that depend on local laws?

Rba007
08-26-2004, 06:56 AM
Its illegal to have one in your car, thats MI law, but most likely would be the same wherever you are, worth checking.

cableguyx
08-26-2004, 06:16 PM
in massachusetts the sell them at most radio shacks and walmarts. Its not really for me anyways its for my friend who just bought a new car and wanted to harwire it instead of plugging it in to his only accessory power port. I dont believe they are illegal here.

gasev6ho
08-27-2004, 02:37 PM
Yeah, check the local laws. Just because they can sell something does not necessarily make it legal. I'm sure there's a disclaimer on the box or in the instructions somewhere so they can sell them anywhere. Here in PA they are legal. I'm about to get one myself. Trust me on checking the laws though. You can get Headlight Covers in any Pep Boys here, but they are illegal to have on the car if you are driving it (trust me, I have the ticket to prove it). I think they are ok in MA, but as I said, it pays to check. Did I mention you should check the local laws?

Chris

Rba007
08-27-2004, 09:30 PM
Yea, scanners are perfectly legal for home use here, but not in your car.

cableguyx
08-28-2004, 08:30 AM
Well apparently my friend is joining in the volunteer fire fighters for his little home town so I guess that would help him even if its not allowed in cars. Thanks for the input.