keyless entry not working [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : keyless entry not working


Braves299
09-14-2004, 06:31 PM
i changed the battery and it still doesnt work.. well the grey buttons dont work(lock, unlock, trunk) but the red panic button works fine... what could it be? i searched and couldnt find anyone with the same problem..

UNCTYPE-S
09-14-2004, 06:40 PM
maybe something in the keyfob itself. if its getting a signal from the panic button, then i would think its from the fob.

Braves299
09-14-2004, 06:44 PM
its wierd... it just started yesterday.. i locked my doors, but i had to push it like 5 times for it to work.. after i came back to my car, it would not unlock and thats when i noticed the problem. I know this is a stretch BUT i have a set of wheels and tires taking up the entire back of my car (including the trunk)... i just put them in there yesterday after i put the new wheels on... could they possibly be interrupting the signal from the remote since the reciever is located somewhere in the trunk?

UNCTYPE-S
09-14-2004, 06:46 PM
i dont think its anything that is stored in the trunk that is causing the problem. thats what a trunk is for. ive had anywhere from 2 sets of golfclubs, to box of springs and struts, my system, etc and i never had that problem.

Braves299
09-14-2004, 06:49 PM
i know... just wishfull thinkin on my part though... this sux cuz my spare remote is back home and i know thats not workin either...

Dan00GPGT
09-14-2004, 07:03 PM
Do your power locks work from the switch?

Braves299
09-14-2004, 07:19 PM
yep

GAGTSCTGuy
09-14-2004, 07:22 PM
Did you do that sync thing? I had to do that in my Malibu when it started acting weird once back in the day....

Braves299
09-14-2004, 07:24 PM
no i havent tried anything yet..

action
09-15-2004, 07:01 AM
Isnt the wireless keyfob receiver mounted in the trunk, where the rear speakers are mounted??? Is it possible that you have damaged the receiver, wiring or antenna while putting all that stuff in your trunk???

AznGA
09-15-2004, 09:32 AM
One of my keyfob is acting wierd. I think something is wrong with the lock button on the fob. It would ramdomly lock the car itself.

Braves299
09-15-2004, 03:18 PM
SCTguy was right.. i just needed to do the sync process.. (hold the lock, unlock buttons both at the same time for seven seconds, until the car honks) thanks everyone!

GAGTSCTGuy
09-15-2004, 03:59 PM
:thumbs:


:ec:

OneFastGT
01-10-2005, 09:38 AM
If that stuff doesn't work try this. Take apart the keyfob. Inspect the black rubber tabs on the bottom of the keypad. If they feel smooth and not tacky, this could be the problem. The tabs are not getting proper contact with the circuit board. Use a little rough grit sandpaper on the black tabs. Just a few passes is enough. Clean everything back up and reassemble. It should work much better. No more hitting the button 10 times before it unlocks!