Your signature can not be longer than 100 characters. [Archive] - Forum


View Full Version : Your signature can not be longer than 100 characters.

09-24-2004, 11:21 AM
I have been trying to delete the quote from the Guru in my signature and keep getting this denial. Are you all aware of this change/why/what's up with that? Please explain...

09-24-2004, 11:54 AM
deleted... it's amazing what you can do in the site control panels...

09-24-2004, 12:09 PM
It wouldn't let me. I swear I tried to:banghead. I am not a*focktard*. I didn't make the title of this thread up. That is what it kept giving me when I tried to edit it. I am not a :loser. I cut a pasted it.
So you Guru's didn't change the signature's max length?

09-24-2004, 01:40 PM
Yeah...whats up with that? Trying to save some space on the site?

09-24-2004, 01:49 PM
yeah i think they did.. i should have never tried to change mine cause now I can't get all three links back in. I think if you have one now it can stay but if you try to change it, then you will lose it! :)

09-24-2004, 02:10 PM
My sig's 200 characters, and there's not a whole lot to it... it's just a quote I read somewhere. I understand the reasoning behind having a low limit, but 100 characters is just too low IMHO. Surely 200-300 characters (or even 500) wouldn't be too far out of line...

09-24-2004, 06:11 PM
100 characters is just not enough. :thumbsdow

09-25-2004, 06:46 AM
it's text.....i dunno how a low limit would save THAT much bandwith

09-29-2004, 08:06 AM
would you rather they have the avatars taken out and not shorten your sig?

Really... of all things to have a gripe about...

09-29-2004, 10:52 AM
Not griping....just curious. Anyone know the reasoning behind limiting the characters though?

09-29-2004, 11:00 AM
I'll have to find the hack that checks number of lines not characters. We had people with 20 line signatures. It's not about's about readability.

09-29-2004, 11:02 AM
but then again signatures linked from other forums dont affect the bandwidth on gagt. Its only if you use the image thats hosted here on other sites...

text uses no bandwidth whatsoever but it does save on loading time for dial up users which im sure is the main concern as to why the sigs arent allow to be long

09-29-2004, 11:26 AM
fixed....sig can be whatever characters....but can only be 4 lines long...

This will only be enforced when someone tries to change their sig...if it's aready too long then that's the way it is until we or they change it.

We don't allow images in sigs just adds clutter.

09-29-2004, 11:38 AM
thank you

09-29-2004, 11:43 AM
I used to be told that I couldn't have more than 100 charactors. It's fixed now. Thank you.