Code P0113 Air Temp Sensor....Few Q's.. [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Code P0113 Air Temp Sensor....Few Q's..


chesee48
10-14-2004, 12:52 AM
Hey guys,
I know this is a common post but i just wanted to hear what usually ends up being the problem? Bad sensor or something with the wires?

I took the car in and had it scanned and they "thought" it was bad injectors that were mis-firing and then i had it scanned again and all that came up was the P0113 Air temp sensor code. One of the guys there said it didnt sound like the injectors. You can hear the engine running a little loppey. But otherwise when driving it, you dont really notice anything at all...

So i bought the sensor part at napa for like 13 and im hoping thats all it needs to get rid of that damn check engine light,

oh ya i have a 99 gt..w/ 70k

any thoughts?
thanks guys

Skillet
10-14-2004, 07:08 AM
I had the same problem. Iceman and I did some investigating two Carlise's ago. My sensor was fine. We took Erica's and tried it on my car as well. Turns out there is a TSB as well on this problem. The wires inside the connector break thier insulation and complete the circuit inside the connector. Good Sensor won't mean anything. Here is the TSB (Thanks Seth). Hope this helps.

Chris

Service Engine Soon Light With Stored Codes P0112, P0113, P1111 or P1112 (Replace IAT Sensor Connector)
1997-2002 Chevrolet Malibu

1997-1999 Oldsmobile Cutlass

1999-2002 Oldsmobile Alero

1999-2002 Pontiac Grand Am

with 3.1L or 3.4L Engine (VINs M, J, E -- RPOs L82, LG8 , LA1)

Condition
Some customers may comment that the service engine soon light is on.

The TECH 2 will show stored diagnostic trouble codes P0112, P0113, P1111, or P1112.

Cause
This condition may be caused by a broken wire at the intake air temperature (IAT ) sensor connector. The break may not be readily apparent as the insulation may be intact.

Correction
If routine diagnosis leads to a broken wire at the IAT sensor connector, replace the connector as follows:

Remove the tape from the engine harness convoluted tube where the IAT circuit wires join the main engine harness.
Locate/isolate the 2 IAT wires within the engine harness.
Disconnect the IAT connector from the IAT sensor.
Remove the tape from the IAT and MAF (mass air flow) sensor wires to allow removal of the IAT wires.

Important
Before cutting the IAT circuit wires, it will be necessary to determine the proper length. You need to add 38 mm - 50 mm (1.5 in - 2.0 in) to the length of the wire going to the IAT. Also, when cutting the IAT circuit wires, it is important that the wires are cut in a manner that will not create a large mass. Stagger the cuts and install the connector kit. Original connector cavity "A" has a red wire and cavity "B" has a tan wire. Make sure cavity "A" and cavity "B" wires on the replacement pig tail connector match "A" and "B" wires on the engine harness. This will provide strain relief and prevent recurrence of this concern.


After staggered cuts are made on the IAT wires in the engine harness, strip a small amount of the insulation from both wires and install the kit butt connectors to the bare IAT wires by crimping both.
Stagger the cuts on the pig tail wires to match the IAT engine harness wires.
Strip a small amount of the insulation from the pig tail IAT wire ends. Install and crimp both wires into the open end of the butt connectors that were installed on the engine harness IAT wires.
Heat shrink both IAT butt connectors and let the wires cool off.
After cool down is completed, the harness can be neatly taped with electrical tape.
Install the IAT connector on the IAT sensor.
Clear the codes.


Parts Information
Part Number
Description
Qty

12102620
Connector Pig Tail
1

chesee48
10-20-2004, 01:43 PM
heres what i found when i went to look at my IAT sensor...

the BLACK wire that connects to the the connector which plugs then into the sensor, is off.
Would this cause the CES light on and cuz the engine to then run a lil rough?
Also, what would i need to do as far as the wire? Part of it is stuck in connector, so if i buy a new connector , what do i need to do as far as the BLACK wire?

Thanks guys!

chesee48
10-21-2004, 11:59 AM
any thoughts??

eaglesrealm
10-22-2004, 09:19 AM
Yes, I just had my IAT wiring fixed because it failed such that the vehicle thought the temp was --37 degrees Cel. outside. This caused VERY rough shifting because the PCM adjusted trans. pressures thinking it was that cold outside, when really it was in the 70's F.

Sensor was fine. Wiring was fixed I would say in the first 8 inches or so coming out of the switch.

Garagegoblin
09-19-2005, 02:04 PM
I am getting a SES light on constant, the car is running hot, and randomly will peg out and the car won't shift, put in a new thermostat maybe a couple months ago, could this all be the same problem as well, if so where is this switch located. Thanks for any help my car is a 01 GT with 181,000 miles