Code P0442 [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Code P0442

JGA-GT
10-18-2004, 06:08 PM
Took car in today for scan, service engine light popped on today. Code read p0442 emmision leak. Anyone have any idea what it could be. The guy at autozone didn't seem to know. I have 2001 GT with 54,500 miles.

Aleromi
10-18-2004, 06:41 PM
Well that would mean to look for leaks around the EGR.... and or EGR vac. lines....

Mike Jung
10-18-2004, 08:48 PM
P0442 = Evaporative Emission System Leak Detected (small leak)
Like a loose gas cap.

Malaclypse
10-19-2004, 12:16 AM
Check your gas cap and make sure its tight.

preed4962
10-19-2004, 10:24 AM
The 2001 Grand Am's were known to have a problem with a rolled or pinched fuel sender seal that would cause this code (and the light) to set. The fuel tanks went from metal to plastic in 2001 and that is when this problem arose (I know, I am a warranty engineer). I will try to find the bulletin.

-Paul

preed4962
10-19-2004, 10:28 AM
Sorry, I was wrong it was 2000 that they went to plastic fuel tanks, in any case, your car is covered by this TSB

MIL Indicator Illuminated, DTC P0442 Stored (Replace Fuel Sender to Tank O-Ring) #01-06-04-007A - (Apr 11, 2001)
Table 1: For Vehicles Built After the Following VIN Breakpoints
MIL Indicator Illuminated, DTC Code P0442 Stored (Replace Fuel Sender to Tank O-Ring)
2000-01 Chevrolet Cavalier

2000-01 Oldsmobile Alero

2000-01 Pontiac Grand Am, Sunfire

This bulletin is being revised to add VIN breakpoint information for the 2000 Chevrolet Cavalier and the 2000 Pontiac Sunfire as well as to clarify the applications for the fuel sender-to-tank O-ring. Please discard Corporate Bulletin Number 01-06-04-007 (Section 6 -- Engine).

For Vehicles Built After the Following VIN Breakpoints Plant Location
Chevrolet Cavalier
Pontiac Sunfire

Lordstown (7)
Y7116732
Y7116735

Ramos Arizpe (S)
YS102309
YS102393

Lansing Genasys (B)
YB900290
YB200181

Important