Idle is VERY high [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Idle is VERY high


gaprojectcar
10-19-2004, 12:59 PM
Does anybody Know how to adjust the idle speed in a 2000 GA SE. My idle is at 1500+ RPM. I did a search but came up with nothing.

Braves299
10-19-2004, 01:00 PM
does it idle like that all the time? or just when its cold? mine is like that when its cold.

gaprojectcar
10-19-2004, 01:58 PM
does it idle like that all the time? or just when its cold? mine is like that when its cold.
It used to just do it when it was cold but now its all the time. When its cold it sounds like it is going to stall for the first 5 or so minutes of driving. Once the engine gets to about 150 degrees it is fine but still idles high.

fschambe
10-19-2004, 02:08 PM
it could be your engine coolant temperature sensor causing the problem, get it checked out.

Rba007
10-19-2004, 02:12 PM
What engine? my bet is vacuum leak personally. Done any mods lately?

Infernall
10-19-2004, 02:53 PM
My stuffed up fuel filter was causing extremely high idle for me.

Check that out, its only $20

IAmCanadian
10-19-2004, 06:02 PM
TPS cable was not routed correctly on my car (got it that way) that caused my fast idle (2500)

2Dambad
10-19-2004, 06:10 PM
Your throttle postition sensor is bad, replace it.

rizer
10-19-2004, 11:15 PM
Your throttle postition sensor is bad, replace it.

Yeah, mine would idle at a random amount over 1k. Whenever id shift from park to drive, it'd slam into gear. Gotta love going through a drive thru with the exhaust a roaring at 3k :)

Costed bout 130 bucks to have done at a shop

gaprojectcar
10-20-2004, 03:16 AM
No "mods" done but I did remove my manifold to replace gaskets. Painted it while it was off. The manifold was put back on by my father-in-law at his garage. 99% sure that my vacuum lines are all set but I will double check them anyway. I guess I'll have my dealership look at it. Only problem is the only pontiac dealer around is a f*cking ripoff. Is the cars problem going to hurt anything whil I try to get the money to pay those f*cks. Thanks for all the help so far. All the members on this site kick azz.

2Dambad
10-20-2004, 03:42 AM
Do it yourself. It is held in place by 3 hex-headed screws and the plug in electrical connection. The part costs maybe $20 at a parts store.

rizer
10-20-2004, 10:09 AM
Dont your gotta reset & tune something in with the computer though?

magnanpi
11-07-2004, 09:37 PM
hey that happened to me. the temp would be at 200 or so.....it would idle at around below 1000 at first. then gradually it would idle at about 1900....i could never figure it out y.

adammsu
11-09-2004, 07:50 AM
make sure your gas is good, cars nowadays are programmed to idle high if the gas gets condensation or whatever in it (usually when close to empty)

SuperCharged666
11-09-2004, 07:35 PM
Had same problem with my 1994 GT V6, needed TPS sensor. Never even threw SES light.