1998 Pontiac Grand Am [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : 1998 Pontiac Grand Am

deb789
10-26-2004, 07:02 AM
I have a Pontiac Grand am 1998 Se. I noticed that when i start my car, My car turns over a but it wont fire the first attempt. I have to start it again and then give a tap on my gas pedal then it starts. Whats the problem?

abusedgt97
10-26-2004, 05:54 PM
clogged injectors, poor spark?

deb789
10-27-2004, 04:50 AM
What do i use for clogged injectors? aAso you said poor spark is there a way to a poor spark? Im new to cars im a girl Please help!!!

71Z28RS
10-27-2004, 08:07 AM
If you're not used to working on cars and you don't have the tools, you'll probably have to take it in for a tuneup. You probably need new spark plugs and wires, and maybe have your fuel injectors cleaned. A new fuel filter and air filter would be recommended if they've never been changed too. And if it's got some high mileage, the upper oxygen sensor is probably due for a change too. If you don't mind working on cars and you have some tools, the plugs and wires can be done in an afternoon without too much hassle. The air filter is very easy to do....all you need is a screwdriver, but the fuel filter involves getting under the car and unhooking the fuel line....not hard, but can be a little messy. The oxygen sensor is a little harder to do, but only because they are usually very tight and hard to get too. If you want to tackle these things yourself and you have the tools, just say so and I'm sure we can walk you through it.

Is your car showing a check engine or an SES light?

deb789
10-27-2004, 12:52 PM
No, Im not seeing a check engine light. Hey, My car has 125,000 miles on it. I dont see any shaking on the car. It is smooth jusst like you dont even hear the car is on. But thats the only problem im having is when i start the car. DEBBIE.

awallsgt
10-27-2004, 08:21 PM
Its a grand am, thats a very common thing to happen.

71Z28RS
10-28-2004, 07:59 AM