Battery Relocation Kit [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Battery Relocation Kit


Kyle
04-06-2005, 05:29 PM
Does anyone have a how to on relocating the battery to the trunk? Do I have to get the kit from summit or can I get it somewhere else? Also how did you run your wires to the trunk?

iceman
04-06-2005, 05:46 PM
The kit will come with the wiring you need.. basically you mount the box in the trunk, make a new ground in the trunk.. For the stock - terminal connection, ground that to the frame in the engine bay. The kit should include something to bolt the new wire to the stock terminal, but these are nice too:
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=263-112

http://www.partsexpress.com/images/263-112m.jpg

You can follow the brake lines if you are coming up the driver's side, or if you go up the passenger side you can put a hole under the back seat to bring the wire in where the wiring harness is under the back seat on the passenger side.... just be very careful where you drill through the trunk, you don't want to drill through anything important on the underside. be aware of moving parts and exhaust stuff too, stay away from them...

Hodge
04-06-2005, 05:58 PM
off topic - iceman i love the avatar :D

Kyle
04-06-2005, 06:17 PM
The kit will come with the wiring you need.. basically you mount the box in the trunk, make a new ground in the trunk.. For the stock - terminal connection, ground that to the frame in the engine bay. The kit should include something to bolt the new wire to the stock terminal, but these are nice too:
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=263-112

http://www.partsexpress.com/images/263-112m.jpg

You can follow the brake lines if you are coming up the driver's side, or if you go up the passenger side you can put a hole under the back seat to bring the wire in where the wiring harness is under the back seat on the passenger side.... just be very careful where you drill through the trunk, you don't want to drill through anything important on the underside. be aware of moving parts and exhaust stuff too, stay away from them...
So how did you run the wires through the gromet and inside the car? Or did you do it from underneath and then go into the trunk.

iceman
04-06-2005, 06:24 PM
You could run these inside the car if you wish, same as a stereo setup in the trunk (go look, there's a great thread where many people posted pics how to run a wire through the grommet in to the interior) .. Or you can do it from underneath and go in to the trunk.. As long as you have the proper gauge wire I don't much of a safety issue of the wire going through the interior if it is routed properly

Kyle
04-07-2005, 04:53 AM
Correct me if im wrong but I will only be runing one wire to the trunk right. Then I need to make a ground in the trunk and connect that to the possitive terminal right? What did you use as a ground in the trunk and the engine bay?

Kyle
04-07-2005, 02:19 PM
bump

Kyle
04-09-2005, 02:24 PM
The kit will come with the wiring you need.. basically you mount the box in the trunk, make a new ground in the trunk.. For the stock - terminal connection, ground that to the frame in the engine bay. The kit should include something to bolt the new wire to the stock terminal, but these are nice too:
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=263-112

http://www.partsexpress.com/images/263-112m.jpg

You can follow the brake lines if you are coming up the driver's side, or if you go up the passenger side you can put a hole under the back seat to bring the wire in where the wiring harness is under the back seat on the passenger side.... just be very careful where you drill through the trunk, you don't want to drill through anything important on the underside. be aware of moving parts and exhaust stuff too, stay away from them...
How do those conectors work does the wire clip in it for the 2 positive wires? Also I would need 2 of them i male and 1 female right.

Kyle
04-09-2005, 02:31 PM
Also sine there is two possitive wires one going to the starter and one going to the fuse box how would I connect them together.

iceman
04-09-2005, 03:01 PM
Sounds like you shouldn't attempt this yourself..