secretary light [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : secretary light


Gold99HO
04-11-2005, 07:57 PM
its only comes on once a year, when am driving and it did it today, could i take it to autoZone so they can scan it? i also think someon broke into it last night but my horn didnt go off...

rocketfast123
04-11-2005, 11:55 PM
The 'zone can read the codes for the security light. My car's light comes on too about 3 times s a year. But then again i have a bad key switch.

SC/TGrandAm
04-12-2005, 12:09 AM
"secretary light" lol lol lol lol

Clyde
04-12-2005, 07:34 AM
"secretary light" lol lol lol lol

I was thinkin the same thing. but i wasnt gonna laff at the guy!
I been pulled into a few threads now (and then dissappointed) because it was """Off Topic""" from what the title reads due to a spelling mistake.

pontga00
04-12-2005, 07:46 AM
I need to get a secretary light for my car.

Gold99HO
04-12-2005, 08:06 AM
oppps haha.... leave me alone :scream:

atexasgarcia
04-12-2005, 08:13 AM
The 'zone can read the codes for the security light. My car's light comes on too about 3 times s a year. But then again i have a bad key switch.

i did not know that auto zone can read why the "security" light comes on i thought it was just for the service engine light

good to know next time it comes on i know where to go to find out why

JohnWayne
04-12-2005, 08:22 AM
im going to make fun of him too.............secretary

AaronGAGT
04-12-2005, 11:25 AM
lol.... secretary.

Matt95GT
04-12-2005, 11:35 AM
I had the same problem. After consulting the service manual, I threw one of these in the back seat:
http://www.punchstock.com/image/rubberball/7356443/large/c3_47.jpg

I recommend the upgrade one tho... there are much better ones that the cheap one in that pic. ;)

Gold99HO
04-12-2005, 08:41 PM
auto zone wont scan it and the dealer wants 85bucks!

GrahamKracka
04-12-2005, 08:49 PM
um....autozone should scan it...they do advertise free scanning

AaronGAGT
04-12-2005, 09:48 PM
I thought autozone only scanned for SES lights....

pontga00
04-13-2005, 04:54 AM
I thought autozone only scanned for SES lights....


Yeah the SES light and security light are two different things. AutoZone can't scan the security light.

Clyde
04-13-2005, 06:42 AM
oppps haha.... leave me alone :scream:


first let me say sorry fer buggin ya <i really shouldnt do that when i know myself I have made spelling mistakes> :)

Next let me ask if its really a big issue that you get this solved. I mean other than the light comming on does it affect the opperation of the car?
my "tire pressure" light comes on a lot in the winter, i know my tires are fine but for what ever reason that sensor likes to mess with me. I had the car in for an oil change a while back and when I went to pick it up the mechanic gave me a quote on "fixing this problem" he was gonna charge me between 3 - 500 bucks depending on how many things he had to change. I showed him how the 'reset' button on the fuse box works just fine and he FREAKED on me sayin that im not a mechanic and I shouldnt be touching that kinda stuff and its only a temporary fix i have to find the source or im gonna damage my front end and need to replace lots more stuff .. and on and on .... I could go on but im sure you get the point <and y'all are sick of hearin me babble on>

Just my oppinion .. take it for what its worth

pontga00
04-13-2005, 06:59 AM
^^^^ Yeah what he said. I've had my security light on for about 1 year and a half (ever since getting the remote start in). It just stays on, and has not affected the performance or function of the car at all.

In addition, I also have the SES light, SVS Light and Change Oil lights on. I like to turn off my ETS, and put the cruise control on while i'm on the highway...it looks like I have an operator switch board or a Xmas tree with all the lights on...it's purty.

(I know why the SES and SVS lights are on, and its nothing major)

95-GT
04-13-2005, 11:38 AM
ahahahaha Joe, secretary light. Tell that bitch to get back to work.

coupe
04-13-2005, 03:14 PM
Mine comes on all the time. Sometimes when im driveing. Then other times it comes on when i try to start the car and it wont let me. The light just blinks for ten minutes then stops then i can start my car. It happens alot and it sucks.

rocketfast123
04-13-2005, 05:18 PM
i did not know that auto zone can read why the "security" light comes on i thought it was just for the service engine light

good to know next time it comes on i know where to go to find out why

I need to read before i post, I meant can't

Gold99HO
04-14-2005, 07:25 AM
well it has a drag start somtimes