01 GT wont start, tries but nothing [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : 01 GT wont start, tries but nothing


scothern
06-23-2005, 10:09 AM
Okay, I am posting this for a friend. I don't own a Grand Am. I own an eclipse. But workign on his car we are baffled.

He dorve it to work, ran fine. Shut it off went about his day and came out to go home. the car tries to start liek its firing but wont run. He killed hte battery tyring. Had it towed ot his house and then the fun began. I checked his fuel preasure test port o nthe rail and it had preasure. I don't have a gauge but it had plenty. so we assume it is getting fuel. So we repalce the coil packs. all three of them. Same thing. Next comes the fuel filter. Still no change. So we spray starter fluid into the intake while attempting to start it. the bastard car ran. As long as we spray the fluid it runs. So next comes the fuel pump.
We drop the tank and I notice large pieces of aluminum foil floating in his tank. There is even one stuck in his filler neck. So we remove that, empty the tank and dump in some fuel injector cleaner. Nothing. Still wont start. So We look at it last night. The battery is dead again and I notice that there is no preasure in the fuel rail.

So ....Here is the situation in a nutshell.

Car wont start on its own. Runs if we spray starter fluid, stop spraying, it dies.
Has new Fuel filter, fuel pump, coil packs.

Any help would be appreciated. Oh eyah I almost forgot an OBDII scanenr reports no codes.

boost21
06-23-2005, 10:26 AM
find out who stuck the alumanum foil in the gas tank and find out what else that person did

fishhunter911
06-23-2005, 10:29 AM
clogged fuel line, replace

pyro
06-23-2005, 10:41 AM
poor typing skills, keyboarding 101 lol

scothern
06-23-2005, 10:56 AM
poor typing skills, keyboarding 101 lol


:bleep: You wise guy. J/K

So you think its a fuel line even though the Rail seems to be getting preasure? We need to charge the battery again and run the pump to see if it still is, but if the rail is getting preasure, then what could it be? I'm almost dead set on injectors. Can they be cleaned or do they need to be repalced?

fishhunter911
06-23-2005, 10:59 AM
i would buy a pressure gauge from pepboys and check the psi. you may pressure but not enough to run, if you have good pressure then the injectures may be clogged with tiny pieces of foil

scothern
06-23-2005, 11:21 AM
So what should the fuel preasure be if we get a gauge ot test it?

fishhunter911
06-23-2005, 11:56 AM
I dont know the answer to that...... I am sure if you do a search it will come up

scothern
06-23-2005, 12:13 PM
I tried and cannot find it.

fishhunter911
06-23-2005, 12:27 PM
ok i will make a call

Malaclypse
06-23-2005, 01:41 PM
The 3400 runs around 35 - 40 psi.

scothern
06-23-2005, 01:57 PM
Thanks guys. I will keep you posted over the next couple of days

fishhunter911
06-23-2005, 02:11 PM
Thanks Scott!

Sprucegagt
06-23-2005, 03:11 PM
The 3400 runs around 35 - 40 psi.

That is not correct for all years only the 99. 2000+ the pressure is 50 PSI. Pressure change due to change in injectors from MULTEC I (I believe) to MULTEC II.

SilverGAGT04
06-25-2005, 02:44 PM
If the injectors are all fine and stuff, I am thinking it might be a bad crank or cam sensor.