oil brands...what do you think [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : oil brands...what do you think

BiHStL
08-14-2005, 12:40 PM
Ive been using Castrol GTX drive hard for the last 6 months or so, also ive been using 10w30 since spring time.

My question is, is the brand of oil good, and should i just switch back to the recomended 5w30 (and is it ok to switch back)

boost21
08-14-2005, 12:41 PM
i just switched to mobil 5000 and it seems ok

CrucialTK
08-14-2005, 12:49 PM
I live in a crazy cold place in MD, should I keep 10W-30 in it?

digitalballz
08-14-2005, 03:55 PM
5w-30. anything that is a brand name will be fine in your car. Just dont use some no-name oil, and you should be fine.

badboy2451
08-14-2005, 04:02 PM
mobil1 FS or royal purple(i think its called that) is a favorite around here

boost21
08-14-2005, 04:42 PM
mobil1 FS or royal purple(i think its called that) is a favorite around here

and at over $5 a quart :crying: :crying:

Mike Jung
08-14-2005, 05:33 PM
Put back 5W30 motor oil back in it; before winter.

10W30 motor oil is ok to use in the summer.

Mike Jung
08-14-2005, 05:38 PM
Mobil 1 ... is a favorite around here

and at over $5 a quart :crying: :crying:
It costs here locally $7.99Cdn/L = $6.45US per Quart for Mobil 1 or German Castrol Syntec motor oil.

Red Line motor oil (http://www.redlineoil.com/products_motoroil.asp) costs $12.99Cdn/quart = $11US/quart.

DevilSlayer
08-14-2005, 05:39 PM
I use Royal Purple 5w-30. I accidentally put in 10w-30 and in a couple months it was winter. During the winter in MD I have no problems with RP 5w-30, but when I put in 10w-30 a couple years ago it would get really thick and you could very clearly feel it, especially when I didn't have time to let it warm up. Yes its $6 a quart, but its worth it in the gained protection, power, and gas mileage.

The_Wraith
08-25-2005, 06:53 AM
Ive been using Castrol GTX drive hard for the last 6 months or so, also ive been using 10w30 since spring time.