Emissions [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Emissions


replica9000
08-17-2005, 01:56 PM
Can anyone tell me exactly what this is... And can I remove temporarily while working on the engine? (like will anything **** out if I remove a hose...)

http://replica9000.bizland.com/pontiac/engine0-1.jpg

mfuller
08-17-2005, 03:00 PM
That's your A.I.R. system, which is a special emissions add-on for California and east-coast vehicles. Your PCM will go a bit nuts if you remove it.

replica9000
08-17-2005, 03:02 PM
OK i just wanted to know cuz I think I might need to remove part of it to get to my spark plugs.

replica9000
08-17-2005, 04:35 PM
Well when you say it'll go nuts do you mean it'll throw a SES light? I have the DHP PCM...

cavingman
08-17-2005, 06:12 PM
good possibility of a ses light. drivability concerns on the other hand, who knows... I think someone actually removed theirs once but i cant remember, do a search.

Bad324
08-29-2005, 11:09 AM
I also would love to get rid of this crap if I can. Like replica, I'm thinking of gettin a DHP PCM, could that help out at all without triggerieing the SES light

digitalballz
08-29-2005, 11:22 AM
you shouldnt have to remove this to get at your back spark plugs. I just did tune up on my car and you can get to them pretty easily actaully. there is a hose I recomend removing whilr your back there. I dont have any pics, but you'll know which one it is.

Bad324
08-29-2005, 11:25 AM
you shouldnt have to remove this to get at your back spark plugs. I just did tune up on my car and you can get to them pretty easily actaully. there is a hose I recomend removing whilr your back there. I dont have any pics, but you'll know which one it is.

that was the hose we had to remove to get back there. We took some other black thing off too because we romved and cleaned the coil pack as well. This emissions thing is just such a pain in the ass

replica9000
08-29-2005, 01:40 PM
Yeah I removed just one of the hoses to get to those back 3 spark plugs. And I might try to disconnect the emmissions system and see what happens. Might not throw a SES light cuz the DHP I have is just programmed for a 2000 GAGT, and not all of the engines have this emmissions crap. When I replaced the cat with a hi-flow cat the stock chip gave me the 420 code all the time. With the DHP chip I don't really get that code.

digitalballz
08-29-2005, 02:20 PM
Yeah I was talkin about a black hose. Had some stupid a$$ clamp on it.