Torque Converter Gone Bad? (Pretty long) [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Torque Converter Gone Bad? (Pretty long)


Braves299
09-27-2005, 01:11 PM
For the past year, whenever I'm on the highway and I start up a mountain, the car had trouble selecting which gear to go into. It would jump back and forth between OD and 3rd. The RPM's would be going crazy jumping up and down. I would always have to step on the gas harder just to make it downshift.

This happened to me on Friday when I was driving on I68 on my way back home. Except this time when I stepped on the gas, my SES light came on. I pulled over at a gas station and the car seemed to be missing. Sometimes it even seemed like it shifted hard.

I decided to still make the 3 hour drive back home. By the time I go there though, the SES light had gone off. But my car was still struggling to find the right gears. My brother read the code and it came up as the Torque Converter. The code was something like P0147, or P0247 I THINK. I can't quite remember. He is a mechanic for Mazda and he said that he's seen that code before. However the Mazda dealer he worked for would not allow them to do any kind of internal automatic transmission work when a code like this was thrown. They would send it off to a sepcialist.

So my mom took my car over to the Pontiac dealer and dropped it off lastnight. They called her back this morning and of COURSE could not find anything wrong. They said that code was an old code (which is complete and utter BULL**** because it just came on on Friday and my brother read it). They said the only thing they can do is complete their transmission service which is a flush and everything (Which they charge $400 for). So I told my mom to not let them work on it anymore. They are already charging me $100 just to have "diagnosed" that.

My brother is going to take this to his friend's shop in Frederick. He called his friend and his friend said that he's seen that code before. And it most likely has to do with some kind of harness inside the tranny?

Have any of you had any kind of problems with this? I am hoping I don't have to put a new tranny in there, but you never know. I did a search and I found that Yun had mentioned something called TCC (Torque Converter Control). This seems similar since he was describing the RPM's jumping up and down.

Thanks for any help at all.

David

Coop
09-27-2005, 02:41 PM
When the dealer said it's an "old" code they probably meant it's in the history, meaning the conditions required to set the code weren't present at the time and the check engine light was off.

There is no 147 or 247 code that I'm aware of, but there is a 741 and 742 code that both relate to the TCC circuit. TCC is basically a lock-up type torque converter that is controlled by a solenoid. In the later GA's they used a pulse-width-modulated solenoid which basically means rather than having the soleniod just turn "on" at certain speeds and then shut "off" when braking it will pulse on and off at a higher rate which as far as the hydraulics are concerned will generate a variable amount of pressure on the lockup converter.

Long story short, it could be your converter, solenoid, harness, or pcm. I'd bet on the solenoid, they're usually not too expensive and you usually don't have to yank the tranny out to change it. Torque converter would be worst case scenario - more expensive, have to pull the tranny, etc. - but I really doubt that's it. In my opinion it should be taken to a qualified transmission shop and NOT the dealer. Dealer will just start replacing **** and hope it's something that fixes it.

Braves299
09-27-2005, 02:45 PM
When the dealer said it's an "old" code they probably meant it's in the history, meaning the conditions required to set the code weren't present at the time and the check engine light was off.

There is no 147 or 247 code that I'm aware of, but there is a 741 and 742 code that both relate to the TCC circuit. TCC is basically a lock-up type torque converter that is controlled by a solenoid. In the later GA's they used a pulse-width-modulated solenoid which basically means rather than having the soleniod just turn "on" at certain speeds and then shut "off" when braking it will pulse on and off at a higher rate which as far as the hydraulics are concerned will generate a variable amount of pressure on the lockup converter.

Long story short, it could be your converter, solenoid, harness, or pcm. I'd bet on the solenoid, they're usually not too expensive and you usually don't have to yank the tranny out to change it. Torque converter would be worst case scenario - more expensive, have to pull the tranny, etc. - but I really doubt that's it. In my opinion it should be taken to a qualified transmission shop and NOT the dealer. Dealer will just start replacing **** and hope it's something that fixes it.

Thankyou! I appreciate the help. And it's not going to the dealer to be fixed. It is my brother's friends shop. Although he doesnt specialize in just transmissions, he will be working along side of my brother. So at least I trust them.

CrucialTK
09-27-2005, 07:14 PM
Damn David that sucks. Don't be telling me that either, I gotta roll I68 from Fredneck to Frostburg. The Mountains from Frostburg to Motown are relatively small ;). Hope all works out ok, what shop in Frederick does your Bro's friend work at?

Braves299
09-27-2005, 07:25 PM
I'm not sure what shop it is. I know its fairly new though. You go to school at Frostburg?

CrucialTK
09-27-2005, 11:51 PM
Yes sir, I'm a Frostburg Bobcat, drinkin' up here right now. I have a personal mechanic in Fredneck who does all the work on my car that I can do.

stanjk3
09-27-2005, 11:56 PM
When I had trany problems this summer I had these codes:
P0741 not sure what it means, I'm guessing it's a stuck or dead solenoid
P1860 TC stuck

http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=53867

So far, so good with the rebuild. Tranny shifts a lot smoother, like when the car was new.

edit: try that link instead

Braves299
09-27-2005, 11:58 PM
^Thanks! I believe that 741 code may be the same one that mine was throwing. Your link just brings me back to this page though. lol

cals400ex
09-30-2005, 02:57 PM
when mine started acting like this it was a bad fuel injector. i am not sure what code it was, but there was a code. it was under warenty so the dealer took it and fixed it.

videoman
09-30-2005, 03:34 PM
Checkout this thread I seem to have a similar issue, where the tranny will surge.
Although I don't get a code.

http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=24465

Braves299
09-30-2005, 05:21 PM
^Yes that is exactly what my car is doing. It wasn't throwing any codes either up until last friday. This had gone on for about a year. The code is indeed the TCC (Torque Converter Control).