Annoying Brake Noise [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Annoying Brake Noise

smbouff
10-02-2005, 01:36 AM
I have a 2001 Grand Am GT Sedan and my brakes are making an incredibly annoying rubbing sound at low speeds. When I get below say 20mph I hear a faily noticable rubbing sound and every so often a squeek sound(squeeks mostly after raining not many other times). Now I am a car newbie when it comes to parts and all that stuff but I pretty much assume it might be a brake pad issue? I have already had my brakes worked on and the sound went away for like....3 days........it's already back and that's why I'm so angry. :rage: I'm going to have my brakes looked at again and make them do it right this time...my actual question is two part.

1)Before I go back yellin at them am I correct assuming the pads are bad or something similar?
2)Does anyone else here get this problem and is it a frequent problem?

I'd hate to be replacing my pads or whatever all the time....I'm a poor college kid like some of you probably are so you feel me...lol. Any comments you guys have would be most welcome and appreciated. :feedback: Thanks.

Ajaxus
10-02-2005, 02:04 AM
1)what work was done last time they worked on your brakes?
2) are you on stock rotors or aftermarket rotors?
3)any idea what type of brake pads you are on? (stock, semi-metallic, ceramic)
4)any idea how many miles are on your current pads?

Cryogenic02GAGT
10-06-2005, 12:23 AM
Squeaks can come from brake pads but most rubbing or grinding is due to warped or groved rotors. Have them turned if they aren't warped badly....

andrewe77
10-08-2005, 08:32 PM