Govener?? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Govener??


hybridfury
10-16-2005, 08:19 AM
Hi all, im new here. I got a 2001 grand am GT and was wondering if it has a govener or if the computer restricts it from going over 120mph? Don't think i have ever got it over 120.

nascarnate326
10-16-2005, 08:59 AM
I think the computer restricts your top speed. My SE stops at 105. GT's stop somewhere higher then that I think. Be carefull, and welcome to grandamgt.com

pyro
10-16-2005, 09:31 AM
http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/search.php?searchid=482723

RamAirGT22
10-16-2005, 10:13 AM
Yeah, search probably the most common newbie question. It's not very safe either.

Mike Jung
10-16-2005, 11:34 AM
http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/search.php?searchid=482723
Nice!!!

"Sorry - no matches. Please try some different terms." lol

...I got a 2001 grand am GT and was wondering if it has a govener or if the computer restricts it from going over 120mph?
Don't think i have ever got it over 120.
Yes, there is a speed governor on our cars.

On the GAGT: It is about 126mph.

Close all windows & the sunroof, when trying.
If you have the sunroof open; you won't get over 120mph (as some others have said, in the past) because of the aerodynamics.

NOTE: In no way am I endorsing you, to trying a top speed run with your GA!


PS: The Search (http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/search.php?) feature does work well usually for finding past information that has been posted before.

pyro
10-16-2005, 12:17 PM
it worked when i used it, oh well. here ya go:
http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=29478&highlight=governer

topher_1993
01-07-2007, 03:20 PM
Hi all, im new here. I got a 2001 grand am GT and was wondering if it has a govener or if the computer restricts it from going over 120mph? Don't think i have ever got it over 120.
i have a friend and he has a 04 gagt and me and him had it to 145 and it wouldnt go no faster but when you buy them at the dealer some ask you if you want the gov on or off his is off

DrFabulous
01-07-2007, 03:37 PM
i have a friend and he has a 04 gagt and me and him had it to 145 and it wouldnt go no faster but when you buy them at the dealer some ask you if you want the gov on or off his is off

Totally false. You cannot simply turn it on or off.... the PCM has to be reprogrammed. Even if that were true, you would never hit that speed on a stock engine..... not nearly enough power.

nascarnate326
01-07-2007, 03:42 PM
Totally false. You cannot simply turn it on or off.... the PCM has to be reprogrammed. Even if that were true, you would never hit that speed on a stock engine..... not nearly enough power.

He prolly had the Grand Am GXP...

gectek
01-07-2007, 04:15 PM
im sorry a GXP??? on a grand am?

nascarnate326
01-07-2007, 06:23 PM
im sorry a GXP??? on a grand am?

Sarcaism?

eric99gt
01-07-2007, 07:32 PM
i have a friend and he has a 04 gagt and me and him had it to 145 and it wouldnt go no faster but when you buy them at the dealer some ask you if you want the gov on or off his is off


Your friend is full of......wait for it.......wait for it................:rx7:

LoboMan7409
01-07-2007, 07:55 PM
fo sho

Sprucegagt
01-07-2007, 08:56 PM
Your friend is full of......wait for it.......wait for it................:rx7:

*iagree*