MAF sensor problem (dirty?) [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : MAF sensor problem (dirty?)


AznGA
11-11-2005, 02:35 PM
As I have said before, my car has been having rough idle, causing it to stall sometimes. SES light popped up and I got the code scanned. It tells that I have a problem with MAF sensor. I remember when I cleaned my cone filter, I oversprayed the oil and that might have caused this. Are the actual sensors the ones I circled? Is there a way to clean those or do I need a new one?

Also, can a bad MAF jack up the tranny pressure?

Slim
11-11-2005, 03:20 PM
Yup. Those are the sensors. If they are dirty, you can clean them with some carb cleaner, or some rubbing alcohol and a Q-tip.

vector7
11-11-2005, 05:17 PM
My 02 GAGT is having a hesitation issue at low RPMs and after doing a search it seems that I need to clean the MAF sensor. However, I have no idea what or where this thing is....Any input on where I can find the MAF sensor?

Thanks

AznGA
11-11-2005, 08:25 PM
Look at the picture above. Those are the sensors.

vector7
11-11-2005, 11:47 PM
Look at the picture above. Those are the sensors.
Where can I find the sensors? Are they in the air filter box?

atc3434
11-12-2005, 12:27 AM
Bad MAF will cause funky tranny stuff, rough gear engadgement, etc. Clean it, if it doesn't help, ya need a new one.

videoman
11-12-2005, 12:42 AM
If you have a oiled K&N Filter it can cause fine oil particles to to attach to the resistors. The dust will ahear to the maf sensors and go funky. Q-tips will help clean em off. Just don't just much if any pressure on em cause they do break very easily.

AznGA
11-12-2005, 12:51 AM
Hmm, I know that I kinda oversprayed the oil when I cleaned my cone filter. That was at least 3 monthes ago though. I guess particles got built up on the wire.

dsk727
11-25-2005, 10:25 PM
amazing huh what that little MAF does...? my car was running very funky... come to find out the top part of the cone decided to come loose from the rest of it, leaving my CAI open and a very dirty MAF. All cleaned and new cone and she runs great! I felt like such a girl though when that was the reason she died today coming home lol :)

AznGA
11-25-2005, 11:05 PM
Well I posted in my other thread, the problem wasn't the MAF. It was the wire harness that plugs on the MAF.

dsk727
11-26-2005, 09:42 AM
ah did not see that. Glad you got it all fixed!!! :)

02andahalfgt
11-26-2005, 02:17 PM
Where can I find the sensors? Are they in the air filter box?

The MAF is located between the air filter and the throttle body.