Do 99 Malibus have 3400 and can i use the tranny? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Do 99 Malibus have 3400 and can i use the tranny?


Blight
12-07-2005, 09:32 AM
I found a transmission for 350 bucks. I have a 2000 3.4 Grand Am GT. The tranny is from a 99 Malibu. He says for sure it will work but i dont know if hes even qualified. I dont know anyhing about Malibus. About to get on Google but id appreciate GA OWners who have some knowledge on this topic.

:horse:

freakydeaky
12-07-2005, 09:36 AM
99 malibu's have the 3.1l v6

Watch4MyBu
12-07-2005, 10:38 AM
As long as it is a 4t45-e transmission it will work. The malibu was never offered with the 3.4

freakydeaky
12-07-2005, 11:55 AM
it has the 4T40E

freakydeaky
12-07-2005, 12:08 PM
tranny info (http://media.gm.com/division/2005_prodinfo/powertrain/transmissions/05_auto_trans_specs.html)

freakydeaky
12-07-2005, 12:22 PM
it should definately fit

LukeD
12-07-2005, 05:12 PM
If it's a 4t40E, you are getting the SE tranny. It will fit and all but..... It's an SE tranny.