oil level after oil change [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : oil level after oil change


Brad
12-11-2005, 05:01 PM
Ok, this is confusing. I've always changed my oil on every car I've ever owned and I've had the GA for over 4 years. I have always changed the filter, drained the oil and added 4.5 quarts to the crankcase and after driving it a bit, checked the level and it has always been just a bit over the full mark... every single time.

Today I changed the oil exactly like I always have, allowing all the old stuff to completely drain. This time, after adding the same amount of oil, a new filter and running it a bit and then letting it sit, the level is quite a bit higher on the stick than it usually is. I am at a loss to explain it.

I did use the same filter (Mobile 1) as in the past, but the new filter is a different color (same part number) than before. In thinking about it, it almost seemed a bit smaller than the old one.

Does anyone know if the new black Mobile 1 filters have a smaller capacity than the old grey ones? If I interpret the oil level against the hashed marked area on the stick, this could be about a half quart over the full mark. Is this going to hurt anything to run it like this, or do I need to crawl under it in the snow to drain some out?

Thanks!
Brad

nascarnate326
12-11-2005, 05:34 PM
Sorry, i use fram.

digitalballz
12-11-2005, 05:56 PM
I dont know about the oil filter difference. I wouldnt however worry about it. If you put 4.5 quarts in the car I wouldnt lose any sleep. When i do oil changes on GM 2.8, 3.1, 3.4, 3.8 I dont even check the level after I add the oil.

GrahamKracka
12-11-2005, 06:19 PM
Sorry, i use fram.
:vomit: :vomit:

99GAGTX
12-11-2005, 07:04 PM
Is it possible because of the cold weather, that maybe not all of the old oil drained out?

Brad
12-11-2005, 07:48 PM
Thanks for the replies guys. The engine was warmed up and left to drain for awhile, so I doubt there was anything left in there... at least not this much! I did go out and drain a bit out just to be on the safe side and it's still a bit above the full level. I have never had anything like this happen before. It's just durn confusing after 4 years of doing my own maintenance on this beast that something this different comes along.
Thanks for the replies.
Brad

Coop
12-12-2005, 06:11 PM
Sorry, i use fram.
Yeah I'm sorry too. They're about the worst filters out there.

Here, check this (http://minimopar.knizefamily.net/oilfilterstudy.html#fram) out.

Taken from the same site (http://minimopar.knizefamily.net/oilfilters.html#avoid)

I just stick with the ACDelco filters, good enough for me.

The_Wraith
12-13-2005, 08:01 AM
I use the Mobil 1 oil filters as well, with the mobil 1 oil. I have noticed no difference with the older gray color filter verses the new black colored filter... my level is fine after putting 4.5qt's in.

Ok, this is confusing. I've always changed my oil on every car I've ever owned and I've had the GA for over 4 years. I have always changed the filter, drained the oil and added 4.5 quarts to the crankcase and after driving it a bit, checked the level and it has always been just a bit over the full mark... every single time.

Today I changed the oil exactly like I always have, allowing all the old stuff to completely drain. This time, after adding the same amount of oil, a new filter and running it a bit and then letting it sit, the level is quite a bit higher on the stick than it usually is. I am at a loss to explain it.

I did use the same filter (Mobile 1) as in the past, but the new filter is a different color (same part number) than before. In thinking about it, it almost seemed a bit smaller than the old one.

Does anyone know if the new black Mobile 1 filters have a smaller capacity than the old grey ones? If I interpret the oil level against the hashed marked area on the stick, this could be about a half quart over the full mark. Is this going to hurt anything to run it like this, or do I need to crawl under it in the snow to drain some out?

Thanks!
Brad

The_Wraith
12-13-2005, 08:04 AM
I would never by a Fram filter again....

I stick with the Mobil 1 on my stuff, and buy the AC-delco or Puroilaters, when I do my famliy members cars... there good too...

just stay away from Fram...

Yeah I'm sorry too. They're about the worst filters out there.

Here, check this (http://minimopar.knizefamily.net/oilfilterstudy.html#fram) out.

Taken from the same site (http://minimopar.knizefamily.net/oilfilters.html#avoid)

I just stick with the ACDelco filters, good enough for me.

Mike Jung
12-13-2005, 07:01 PM
LesabreT.com's Oil filter write up. (http://www.lesabret.com/filters/filter.html)
See at the bottom of the page for: What makes a filter fail?


(For me: It is NAPA Gold [aka: Wix & Carquest Premuim Blue] oil filters)