This Car Just Keeps Gets Worse By The Day [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : This Car Just Keeps Gets Worse By The Day

vin1978
01-15-2006, 06:25 PM
This summer I would hear a rumbling noise like something was loose in the front of my car when I went over bumps. When I drove through a gravel parking lot it got even worse. I took it to my mechanic twice, but he said that everything that was important was tight and he couldn't figure it out.

Now that it is winter, when I start the car in the morning when it is cold, I hear this rumbling noise just going down the street in my neighborhood. The only thing that I notice is that it isn't as bad when it is warmer, but it still sounds like something is going to fall off the front of my car. It is a 2001 GAGT. I thought maybe something with the ABS, but I am not very good with cars. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

*UPDATE*
Well, my mechanic called me and said that it was the sway bar mounts and that they tightened them. I went right over and drove it and it still makes the same damn noise. It is a little warmer here today (40 degrees) and it doesn't sound as bad. They said that the strut mounts are tight and the caliper bolts are tight. I am making them keep it another day because it is supposed to be cold tonight.

Does anyone know what rubber parts are in the front end that could shrink when its cold and make it sound so bad you don't want to drive it, but expand enough when it is warm that it doesn't really make a noticable sound. The thing that drives me nuts is that I usualy won't bring a car in unless it sounds pretty bad. I can handle the creeks and noises of a car getting older, but this sound makes me feel like I am going to loose my front end. :banghead

AaronGAGT
01-15-2006, 06:31 PM