motor swap [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : motor swap


onecrew240sx
02-12-2006, 09:24 PM
Hi im new to the site and recently found out my friend is getting a 90's Grand Am GT from someone for free because it has a warped head but my question is would it be at all possible to drop a Grand Prix GTP supercharged motor if so how much and can anyone do it on here?? Anything would help and if you know by chance where i could find this engine at that would help too. And for anyone who knows Ackbar with the mustang and GTP he says Hi.

Rich
02-12-2006, 09:52 PM
what year exactly is it?

this thread: http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=55266&highlight=rock

had pictures of a 1990 (the really boxy GA) and they were making it sound like the swap wouldnt be THAT hard. i imagine any other year would be pretty hard. but with enough time and money anything is possible.

GrandAmGT1996
02-12-2006, 10:25 PM
but with enough time and money anything is possible.

Exactly.

onecrew240sx
02-13-2006, 05:08 PM
The link didn't work but ill find out what year it is and get back with you guys. Nice car Rich.

Rich
02-13-2006, 10:18 PM
yeah i know the ebay link didnt work, but i just wanted to show the thread where they talk about it not being so hard. and thanks for the compliment.

onecrew240sx
02-17-2006, 05:20 PM
im not to sure i could complete the motor swap exactly anyone on here from ohio thats good with pontiacs? the only motor swap ive done was a 240sx.

Rich
02-18-2006, 01:04 AM
did you find the year of the GA? bzopsi was making it sound like it would practically bolt right in. if its not the body style they were talking about everything would have to be made custom which would make it way harder.

other options:
-obviously, build up the engine in there. im sure you could get decent power for the price of the swap.
-get a different car

coupe
02-18-2006, 02:52 PM
If someone gave me a 1990 GA i would replace it with the same motor that it already had from a junkyard and just drive it.

Rich
02-19-2006, 07:09 AM
http://www.l67swap.com/

ajbbdsdad
03-09-2006, 04:25 PM
on the subject of what will fit where, i have a '96 GA 2.4 4 cyl. they tell me the 99+ is different than the '96- '98. nobody can telll me what is different. in this case different sounds like improvment, are the 99+ 4 cyl's better? will they fit in the 96?

Rich
03-09-2006, 04:50 PM
if youre talking about the 2.4 im pretty sure there the same in the 99-01 as the 96-98. i believe the difference is in the wiring and some other parts. but im pretty sure its pretty much the same engine. for better 4 cylinder info id check out www.quad4forums.com or wait until a 2.4 expert steps in.

coupe
03-10-2006, 05:16 AM
2003GT i think is studying up on this subject. Try PMing him, i think i got the right member.

GrandAmGT1996
03-10-2006, 09:26 PM
And of course, when you have the engine out make sure you detail the entire engine bay...right coupe? lol:boxing: just messin' with ya

coupe
03-18-2006, 03:38 PM
And of course, when you have the engine out make sure you detail the entire engine bay...right coupe? lol:boxing: just messin' with ya


Well of course..........

Azazel
03-22-2006, 12:54 AM
Would a swap from a GTP to a 99GAGT be possible? A few friends and i were considering trying, just thought I'd ask for imput.

Rich
03-22-2006, 12:59 AM
do you mean a grand prix gtp SC 3800? check the site i posted earlier, unless your talking about the 3900 from the G6 GTP then i dont know off hand.

onecrew240sx
03-26-2006, 09:10 PM
Alright i havent been on here in a while but heres the low down on my situation. We took the head off the car which has the 3300 series in it and found it was warped but we found another 3300 series at a junk yard and bought it. After pulling the first one out and got the other one in and bolted down we started on the wiring and hoses. the wiring is almost complete but the one wire is way to short for some reason or another so we are going to snip it and add wire to the existing plug but its the part with the crank plug oil filter and pan. also there are some others we havent gotten in but we got the gas lines hooked up and radiater. but the plug for the exauhst temp im assuming( goes into the header) was cut and we cant get it out so we took the took plugs and cut them so we can tie them together it is moslty done riggin stuff up one way or another but if it runs oh well.