question about vinyls and where to get a ram air hood [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : question about vinyls and where to get a ram air hood

RyanBeemer
02-23-2006, 01:46 PM
I did a search before I posted this, but didn't really find what I was looking for.

I just, well three weeks ago bought a 2003 grand am GT and I am looking to modify a few things, but I have never done anything like this before. Some stuff I know I can’t do.

Ok first question. I want to buy some vinyls from GrafxWerks, ones to go over the “grand am GT”, “Pontiac”, door handles and the “ram air”. Those ones for sure, maybe more. Where I live its winter right now. The warmest it has been is +2 degrees celsius. There is lots of snow, salt/gravel on the roads. And in summer they put some oil/tar stuff on the roads to keep the dust down. Now will these vinyls stand up to all of this.

I want to buy one of the ram air hoods from “Parts for your Cars” but it’s an American company, so if you put that into Canadian dollars it would cost me more than $1100 bucks to get it out where I live. Does anyone know of a Canadian company that sells the same hoods? I don’t really feel like spending $3000 dollars to get it shipped/painted/installed.

Thanks in advance for your help.

coupe
02-23-2006, 02:09 PM
The vinyl will stand up to all that no problem. I suggest instead of getting overlays just debadge and go clean. You can also debadge and put the overlays right to your paint like i did, it will still look clean.

I dont think anyone in canada sells them unless its a private person.

xxbackhillxx
02-23-2006, 02:26 PM
Dealership would be the best way to go about getting the hood.

Graxall
02-23-2006, 02:26 PM
My .02 is that vinyls look too cheap. I have 3 diff vinyls on my car. 3rd brake light overlay, headlight overlay, and door lock amber overlays. When i hear vinyl i think
http://motorsportsdecals.tripod.com/motorsportsdecals/images/maxima-flame-job.jpg
aka gaysville

xxbackhillxx