Head Gasket change on 3.4 - car runs rough after? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

View Full Version : Head Gasket change on 3.4 - car runs rough after?

03-25-2006, 02:29 AM
i just finished changing my head gasket on 3.4. The car fired right up but the engine vibrates fairly roughly, the exhaust has a fast, repetitive, clacking/backfire-like sound. the sound comes from the tail end of the muffler. occasionaly.. once every 10-30 seconds there is a clack sound in the engine. all the rockers are torqued to spec and like i said, its intermittent, not repetitive so i doubt it's a rocker. I used a torque wrench on heads, rockers, LIM and UIM. the valves & springs were left in the heads.

I only let it run for about 1 minute then shut it off and ran it for another minute a little later on. it has coolant and oil. i saw no odd coloring in the front valve cover or dipstick. when you change headgaskets does it take a few minutes for the engine to simmer down? i've never done it before and am a bit timid to let it run without seeking advice. .. no codes are being thrown. anyone have any insight?

03-25-2006, 08:47 AM
I assume you had to disconnect the battery to do the work. If so this may be just the computer relearning the engine. I'd say let it run for a little bit and watch your fluid levels closely. If the thing doesn't get worse drive it gently for a little and see if it goes away. That's all I can think of.

03-25-2006, 03:12 PM
I let it sit last night. When i woke up and fired the car up it backfired about 4 times and then quit. i think a valve was stuck open due to low amounts of oil on the rockers after the repair (forgot to lube them up before the valve covers went on.

The engine smokes a bit due to fluids having gotten onto the exhaust mainifolds/heat shields. Does anyone know how long(on average) it takes for oily fluids to burn off a manifold?

03-25-2006, 03:25 PM