High Idle...? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : High Idle...?


Woody87
04-23-2006, 02:28 PM
All of the sudden a few days ago, I started my car and it was idling at 1100 rpm (instead of 600). So I disconnected my battery for a few minutes, and reconnected it to see if resetting the PCM would help, but it only worked for the first time I started it after that. So it still idles at 1100 rpm, and when I put it in neutral, it revs up to almost 3000 rpm.
Has anyone else had this randomly happen? If so, what do I need to do to fix this? New PCM maybe?

brim
04-23-2006, 03:22 PM
vac leak or TPS maybe

Little_Devil
06-07-2006, 12:24 AM
I've been having this problem latley aswell.... hopfully someone knows what the problem is

el nino
08-09-2006, 02:39 PM
my car used to idle at around 1000rpm but ever since i installed my cai it seems that it has went down to 600rpm. i thought 1k was normal. could it be that i disconnected the bat. while installing the cai that brought it back to normal?

lone_wolf025
08-09-2006, 03:14 PM
Check your IAC motor. Could be that its not working properly.

AmbrosiaCaress
08-13-2006, 08:07 PM
My 99 GAGT is having this same issue...

Thoughts? Ideas? Help???

Thanks

drumking1721
08-13-2006, 09:53 PM
Yea mine was like that too...the throttle body was dirty,cleaned it,back down to 650 now

H.O. Driver
08-13-2006, 10:30 PM
Yea mine was like that too...the throttle body was dirty,cleaned it,back down to 650 now
did you just spray the TB with carb cleaner or what? I have been battling this issue for a long time now. it has a new IAC, TPS, freshly cleaned MAF and it still idle's where it wants to. Its odd because once I get the car up to operating temp 180* it will idle fine if I shut it off and turn it back on. I am running out of things to check, can't find any vacuum leaks either.

lone_wolf025
08-14-2006, 12:14 PM
did you just spray the TB with carb cleaner or what? I have been battling this issue for a long time now. it has a new IAC, TPS, freshly cleaned MAF and it still idle's where it wants to. Its odd because once I get the car up to operating temp 180* it will idle fine if I shut it off and turn it back on. I am running out of things to check, can't find any vacuum leaks either.

Could be a computer issue. If you can get someone to check to see what the set idle is.

drumking1721
08-14-2006, 03:59 PM
I went to autozone and they have a throttle body/intake cleaner...it works,its not carborator cleaner

drumking1721
08-14-2006, 07:11 PM
Its made by STP....i mean my car was just running rough,and i remember a while back look at the throttle body and it was dirty,never cleaned it. Well that waas like 3 months ago...it adds up....My car runs soo much smoother now and you can hear the CAI sucking at idle and the idle is down from 900-1000,around 650

H.O. Driver
08-14-2006, 10:27 PM
Could be a computer issue. If you can get someone to check to see what the set idle is.
yea, I have had the same DHP program in there for about 2 yrs now, its only been acting funny for about 3 months.


I will try some of the TB cleaner, it will be hard to find since I have no autozone or advanced auto near by to where I am at now.

drumking1721
08-15-2006, 03:32 PM
Yea i have the DHP....its fine,im tellin ya it works!!

drumking1721
08-27-2006, 10:34 AM
any results?

freeze12
08-27-2006, 11:33 AM
A bad coolant temp. sensor will also cause a high idle as when it goes it tells the computer the coolant is still cold thus a high idle.