what's wrong with my bright? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : what's wrong with my bright?


gandolf77
07-27-2006, 04:27 PM
Does anybody know why my passenger side bright doesn't work? It works just fine when i just have the regular headlights on, but when i hit the lever for the brights only my drivers side bright comes on. I checked and all the other bulbs are working right. I'd appreciate any help that i get. Thanks.

boost21
07-27-2006, 05:00 PM
its probibly burnt out, you have 2 differant fillaments inside on your bulb. if not its probibly the high beam wire going to it

badboy2451
07-27-2006, 05:16 PM
yea im guessin the high is burnt out also, what kinda bulbs are they? did you replace them lately?

gandolf77
07-27-2006, 05:30 PM
thanks for the quick replies guys. well i got a brand new headlamp assembly a few days ago (the lens on my old one is all clouded up) and it came with a new bulb in it already & the bright didnt work so i swapped it with my previous bulb & the bright didnt work on it either, so if it's the wire how should i check it, is there a certain voltage i should get on the 3 contacts from the harness? the bulbs are basic 9007 65/55w

boost21
07-27-2006, 05:32 PM
if you have a multimeter, put your highs on and then test the high + and - and if you dont have 12v then its the wireing

badboy2451
07-27-2006, 06:05 PM
well if they worked before he bought the new headlamp assembly then i dont see why they wouldn't work unless he accidently sliced the high beam wire, which is something that would be noticeable

gandolf77
07-27-2006, 06:36 PM
i'm not sure if the bright worked before i got the new assembly or not, i'll probably just replace the wiring for it & see if that's the problem

Sprucegagt
07-27-2006, 09:25 PM
Swap your headlights. If the problem moves then you have a bulb problem. If not then a wiring problem.

gandolf77
07-28-2006, 04:23 PM
I replaced the connector and that fixed it. I should've did that first cuz that was the problem when my abs & trac light were staying on, once i replaced the connector that plugs into the hub the light went away for good. Well thanks for the help guys, i appreciate it