gt engine to a sunfire?? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : gt engine to a sunfire??


fireboy153
07-28-2006, 01:10 AM
im a sunfire owner, and i would like to get a grand am gt engine and manual tranny into my car. i drive a 99, so ide imagine using a 99 grand am would be a good idea. im jsut looking for more info on the grand am. i have done 2.3 engines before in grand ams, early 90's models. the wire harness for the engine was separate from chasis electrical. the ecu was rather easy to get at and change too, so arethese never models the same? i think this project can be done rather easily seeignthat hte 2.4 engine is common ground between these 2 cars. if anyone has any input on the subject, please let me kno. ideas are welcome.

nascarnate326
07-28-2006, 05:52 AM
I dont think, or know of anyone that has the 3400 with a manual tranny in a grand am, let alone a sunfire. Im sure it can be done , providing your loaded with $$$. If u want to put a 2.4 in your car, thats easy. The Sunfire GT came with a 2.4 so you know it will work. Check out www.j-body.org for more info about our cars.

Hurricane
07-28-2006, 08:33 AM
The 3.4L with a manual tranny has been debated here for years. To my knowledge nobody here has actually done it. The only one I've really heard of was Spoon and he had extrodinary resources availble to him (aka GM).

As for putting it into a Sunfire, assuming it would fit physically, you'd pretty much have to run a custom ECU (Haltech or something similar) becasue if I remember correct, in the Grand Am the PCU communicates with the BCU which would cause a lot of headaches.

B0000rt
07-28-2006, 02:24 PM
As for putting it into a Sunfire, assuming it would fit physically, you'd pretty much have to run a custom ECU (Haltech or something similar) becasue if I remember correct, in the Grand Am the PCU communicates with the BCU which would cause a lot of headaches.
I'm pretty sure it would physically fit.

I've seen a Supercharged 3800 in a Cavi.

http://www.cardomain.com/id/raven_sc3800

Sprucegagt
07-28-2006, 02:47 PM
It can and has been done. This is in a cavi but the procedure is the same.

http://users.adelphia.net/~rdbryant1/index.html.html

iceman
07-28-2006, 02:56 PM
Yep pretty common.. if I were you I'd have a look over at j-body.org, I think you can find much more useful information about this particular topic

Graxall
07-28-2006, 09:09 PM
I'm pretty sure it would physically fit.

I've seen a Supercharged 3800 in a Cavi.

http://www.cardomain.com/id/raven_sc3800
wow that cavy must fly...pretty light car eh?

fireboy153
07-29-2006, 10:00 AM
i have been on j-body for a while, figured grand am owners could tell me more. i would imagine i can jsut power the ecu, by using diagrams of course,- yes i can read them!! haha. i know older models seemed to have a sepaeate harness and ecu fro mthe car itself, not sure on a new one, right now im

Rich
07-29-2006, 06:21 PM
http://www.3400swap.com/

if you didnt already know about it.

fireboy153
07-30-2006, 05:18 PM
thanx for the info!! this dont seem to bad to do....