Problems with Power??? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Problems with Power???

runasoft
08-11-2006, 12:25 AM
I have a bit of a concern and a little bit of a long story so please be patient with this post and give me your input on all of this.

My car is a 2004 Grand AM SE 3400 3.4L V6 (AUTO). I bought this car with 36,000 miles on it about 5 months ago. Over the course of those 5 months I have done a few things to the car. I got a dual flowmaster 80 with 2.5" Piping, 3" CAI, PRO-M MAF, Gold-Line lowering springs and Kyowa 18" Racing rims with Falken Low Profiles.

Now, before you go on flaming me for what I'm about to say, please just keep reading so you can understand my concern.

Ever since I got the car, I have not been able to peel-out. The car had the stock 15's with some pretty bald tires up front. I could get a small chirp putting it in first and power braking but never more than a second or so.. I tried pulling the e-Brake, power braking and still, it would chirp and then just bog out and start rolling and stop spinning the tires. Is this normal even with the mods I have?

Now, I put on the Kyowa 18's and expected some gains only because each wheel with tires weigh 6 pounds less than the stockers. Nope, I can't even get a chirp out of them now!