Help with Exhaust... [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Help with Exhaust...

EddieS
10-17-2006, 01:32 AM
Greetings, I am a newbie to the site. Looks cool. Anyway, check this out. I need some help with my car. I have a 1997 Grand Am GT, with a 3.1L engine. I've had the car for about 4 months. With a lil money in my pocket now, I want to redo the exhaust to make it sound a little better. What I want is a deeper tone, not super loud. Well with some visits to the local shops, it seems near impossible to do. Most are telling me I need to get a new catylic converter, and flowbies or something else. But the shops are giving me a hard time about taking the stock converter off. Anyone got any suggestions to help me out? Or should I just forget about it. Thanks!!
Eddie

DrFabulous
10-17-2006, 08:39 AM
No decent shop should give you a hard time about that. Depending on your miles, replacing your cat isn't a bad idea- and they should be able to custom make you a cat-back exhaust for around $300. Keep shopping around.

3400MAN
10-18-2006, 12:32 PM
Keep Looking for someone willing to help you. When I had my GA I purchased an SLP Cat-Back exhasut, S&S Headers and a Magnaflow cat. THe internal drone was horrible and the exhasut note was really raspy. I believe that if I replaced the single the SLP muffler with something a little better it would have made it sound really nice. You have a lot of options, don't give up just because someone gave you a different answer than the one you were looking for.

poika
10-30-2006, 03:45 PM
I am gonna going to dig this thread up, I went to an exhaust shop up here in ontario canada...and the dude was like "yeah, a 2.5" exhaust wont fit in your car, and it would take a long time to make" now I understand that it will fit.,... i am not a retard... but as for the time to make, how many "special" bends are in the pipe that might be tricky?

lone_wolf025
10-30-2006, 03:47 PM