port or not to port [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum


View Full Version : port or not to port

10-27-2006, 11:01 AM
I drive a 93 grand am gt and just wanted it to know if I can port the intake myself or does it have to be professionally done and which pat of the intake gets ported upper or lower or both. Thanks.

10-27-2006, 12:11 PM
It'd probly be better to get it professionally done, unless you know what you're doing. Considering you asked which part of the intake gets ported, I'm guessing you don't.

I don't know if there's any companies that sell already ported intakes for a '93, but somebody else here might.

11-17-2006, 05:56 AM
If you are going to tackle porting first off, it only makes sense to port both, and second im basing my info off the 3400 i think you have the 3100 the UIM and LIM are a bit of work to get off then put back on bet thing to do is go to the wreckers theres tons of 3100s there get an extra UIM and LIM and port those first and see how it goes. If alls well than pull them off your car and drop on the ported ones.