Tension spring [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Tension spring


polo77
10-27-2006, 12:46 PM
Hey Im getting ready to change my water pump and I was wondering how do i move the tension spring to get the belt loose? do i loosen the bolt that is visible? anything would be great!!

polo77
10-27-2006, 01:11 PM
never mind i got it all under controll

coupe
10-27-2006, 01:24 PM
Hahaha

They do sell serpentine kits at carquest and napa btw.

polo77
10-27-2006, 03:16 PM
its pretty easy once u figure everything out.

digitalballz
10-28-2006, 05:09 PM
serpentine kits?? what a waste of money

CaptRon
10-29-2006, 06:19 AM
^*iagree*

coupe
10-30-2006, 06:16 AM
serpentine kits?? what a waste of money

I dont own one myself but they are a very handy tool to have, nothing wrong with owning more tools.

I just use my breaker bar to move the tensioner. When H.O. Driver was at my place we had to take his belt off and for some reason my braker bar wouldnt fit but he had this nifty little tool and we didnt skip a beat.

I still dont understand why my braker bar fits on my GA but not on his. Its like his engine is 4" farther over to the point where you cant get anything down in there except this tool. Good thing he brought that with him.

H.O. Driver
10-30-2006, 09:00 AM
I dont own one myself but they are a very handy tool to have, nothing wrong with owning more tools.

I just use my breaker bar to move the tensioner. When H.O. Driver was at my place we had to take his belt off and for some reason my braker bar wouldnt fit but he had this nifty little tool and we didnt skip a beat.

I still dont understand why my braker bar fits on my GA but not on his. Its like his engine is 4" farther over to the point where you cant get anything down in there except this tool. Good thing he brought that with him.

I don't understand it either, it seems as if our engine bays are misalligned. I love that sepertine belt tool, works on all GM, Ford, and Chrysler tensioners and its only 1/2" wide :)

coupe
10-30-2006, 09:40 AM
I don't understand it either, it seems as if our engine bays are misalligned. I love that sepertine belt tool, works on all GM, Ford, and Chrysler tensioners and its only 1/2" wide :)

Im definately buying one, never know when you run into problems like that.

Its so weird its like that. They should be IDENTICAL, no ifs ands or buts.

mikep1987
10-30-2006, 11:39 AM
Perhaps his car was equipped with the smog pump, which takes up space all around the engine? Mine came equipped with it and it's a major pain, especially when changing plugs.

coupe
10-30-2006, 11:45 AM
I didnt see anything like that.

H.O. Driver
10-30-2006, 12:19 PM
nope, no smog pump, it just seemed like the motor was down and back farther than Rand's was. Not sure if its just a misalighnment issue from repair from a wreck, but from what I could tell, niether of our cars have ever been in a wreck.

Sprucegagt
10-30-2006, 12:25 PM
You may want to take a quick look at your engine mounts.

H.O. Driver
10-30-2006, 12:29 PM
You may want to take a quick look at your engine mounts.
We did, it didn't even seem like they were mounted to the same spot on the passenger side fenderwell.

coupe
10-30-2006, 01:03 PM
Yeah the mounts where even in a different spot it seemed.
We may never know.

Phuxed
10-31-2006, 01:16 PM
We shoulda tried it on mine too when I was there, just to see...

coupe
10-31-2006, 01:22 PM
Yeah we should have, dont know why we didnt at the time lol