The yellow light [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : The yellow light


TFA
11-26-2006, 12:10 AM
;crap the yellow light of doom came on tonight, shortly after installing my cold air box from Dr. Speed. The car is telling me its sick, and this is the problem...i installed the box without incident, everything is connected fine. The trans, right after installing it, started to go crazy, it is going into and out of drive very hard (jolts into gear) and when driving, it shifts very hard as well. didnt have the problem an hour before i installed the cool air, just, now that i have it it started acting up, anyone have any ideas? tomorrow im gonna try installing the stock system again and see what happens.

canadian_racer
11-26-2006, 12:12 AM
Did you hook up the MAF sensor cause i didnt and thats exactly what mine did.

TFA
11-26-2006, 12:19 AM
now, the MAF sensor is which one?

canadian_racer
11-26-2006, 12:21 AM
Mass Air Flow sensor its the big sensor in a thing that looks similar to a throtle body in between the air box and the throtle body

TFA
11-26-2006, 12:23 AM
yeah, i connected all 3 that i had to. Im assuming it has something to do with this and it isnt coincidence that my trans. took a crap at this exact time. What did you do to fix your problem?

canadian_racer
11-26-2006, 12:25 AM
On mine it turned out to be a broken wire on the MAF sensor but mine did the same thing, it felt like the trans was going to rip right out of the car.

TFA
11-26-2006, 12:30 AM
ok, just to clarify, looking at the engine from the diver side, it is the plug that is on the left-hand side of the intake? not the small sensor that is on the right hand side, and not the other sensor closer to the filter right?

canadian_racer
11-26-2006, 12:33 AM
Sorry, its the bigger one, the small one is the Air Intake Temp sensor.

TFA
11-26-2006, 12:36 AM
Ok, ill take a look. I thought from the beginning this might be a problem because now the sensor holes are in the silicone tubing and dont secure very well in there. The IAT sensor (I belive) wires were stretched a bit when i re-installed it, so that my be an issue.

canadian_racer
11-26-2006, 12:39 AM
If its not sealed tight that will cause problems too.

TFA
11-26-2006, 12:42 AM
ok, ill re-seal it all with silicone tomorrow then :bleep: :banghead

badboy2451
11-26-2006, 03:33 PM
u didn't receive any gromets to hold the sensors in place when you got the intake?

TFA
11-26-2006, 03:39 PM
no. the silicone sleeves have the holes for the sensors now, not the tubing itself.
So i jammed the sensors in the silicone as far as they will go, and still game-off. Im gonna get it looked at tomorrow hopefully, and maybe the computer just has to be re-set *hopefully*

Sprucegagt
11-26-2006, 10:35 PM
Your problem is with the IAT or MAF. Either a wire is broken or somehow the sensor/s were damaged during removal/reinstall.

rocketfast123
11-27-2006, 12:13 AM
money on IAT

TFA
11-27-2006, 11:27 PM
so, the IAT sesor was cracked....problem has been resolved