Ahh, Loud noise when starting [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Ahh, Loud noise when starting


Jake
03-29-2007, 09:56 PM
We just replaced my spark plugs and wires, (Ngk plugs) (taylor wires) it sounded normal at start and like right as it would try to start there was a loud noise and the car jerked, the plugs are gapped correctly, the wires are all in their proper places, any ideas?

WeibSunder
03-29-2007, 10:10 PM
Thought about the starter? Only thing that I can think of that would make that much torque to move the car any and it not start.

Jake
03-29-2007, 10:18 PM
Ive never had a problem with the car starting until now when i changed the plugs and wires. EDIT : I should have said, the car DOES start. It just makes a loud noise and jerks right when it starts, and then when its idling, about every second the car jerks a little bit

WeibSunder
03-29-2007, 11:28 PM
I still say it sounds like your starter, and maybe it's still turning over after you get it cranked up. But I might be wrong...waiting for others to chime in.

Jake
03-30-2007, 11:27 AM
My moms friend says the wires are in the correct spots, I'm beginning to wonder if they actually are. he might have 1 or 2 of the wires in the wrong spot, and now I cant find anywhere where exactly the wires go. Even went and bought a manual for the car at autozone and it doesnt even say it or havea picture of it. I need my car in like an hour. :bleep:

drumking1721
03-30-2007, 11:31 AM
Double check the wires...i kinda had the same problem when i did mine,i just had two wires in the wrong spots

Jake
03-30-2007, 11:34 AM
Yea I think thats what the problem is, but What spots do the correct wires go in? I cant find out. Its not in the owneres manual, or the book i bought at autozone.

drumking1721
03-30-2007, 11:35 AM
Where they connect to the coils...... like i had my #5 and #2 mixed up,messed up the car

Jake
03-30-2007, 11:42 AM
I put them all right, the car will attempt to start, then make loud noise and jerk. GRRRRRRRRRRRRr

drumking1721
03-30-2007, 11:50 AM
thats what i thought.....but i didnt have the correct order, it took like 3 different people to figure that out

cardude007617
03-30-2007, 11:53 AM
are they all in all the way??

Jake
03-30-2007, 11:56 AM
K now it seems one of the wires wont snap into place on the plug. Like, he pulled on the wire when unpluggnig it and not the end of the wire, so it pulled the wire out a lot so it cant make contact with the plug when u try to plug it in.

coupe
03-30-2007, 12:20 PM
This is why you change 1 wire at a time. That way you cant mess it up.

Jake
03-30-2007, 12:24 PM
this is such bull****. Ive spent like 5 hours over this morning and last night on this **** and nothing is working. I have a funeral to go to in 45 mins and now I have no car. just my luck.

coupe
03-30-2007, 12:26 PM
Put your old plug wires back in.

Jake
03-30-2007, 12:29 PM
I only have 5 of them. My moms friend cut the end off one of them and used it so it would be easier to get the plugs in.

Jake
03-30-2007, 03:01 PM
Does someone have a clear picture or something of the engine because it is not the wires or the plugs and the car is still having trouble starting, I swear the wires are plugged in properly and not mixed up but I could be wrong. Ive already spent 170$ towards doing this and now my car stil ldoesnt run and its totally ridiculous.

Jake
03-30-2007, 03:15 PM
OMG i feel like a fool, the order was all messed up. My MOM finally found the order in the book i bought, nice when your nearly 20 and your mother has to help you fix your spark plugs... THANKS MOM.

coupe
03-30-2007, 06:01 PM
Your mother will always be there, thank her and give her a hug.

Jake
03-30-2007, 06:08 PM
Hah, I did Edit : Btw, car starts much smoother now :) Also, i'm not sure if anyone actually has the order they go posted on here? If not, I would be glad to give one of you mods it, so you can post it so people wont get all mixed up like me. :)

Sprucegagt
03-30-2007, 09:12 PM
You know there's this feature here called "Search". It allows you to look up old threads based on keywords. It works really good when your looking for answers to your questions. I used this feature with the following key words "firing order". Here are the results:

http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/search.php?searchid=807424

I found this on the very first page of results.

http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=52704&highlight=firing+order

Sorry for the sarcasm, but this is why we ask that people please search before asking questions. It is very likely your question has already been answered here in detail.

Jake
03-30-2007, 09:36 PM
i honestly did search... musta just searched the wrong keywords sorry.