stripped oil pan bolt [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : stripped oil pan bolt


sjones419
04-16-2007, 02:46 PM
So i went to change the oil for the first time on this car by myself since the day was nice. And i went to put the the 9/16 socket on it and the blot was completely stripped. So someone, either valvoline or the dealership stripped the bolt. What do i do? I am too pissed. please help me out.

Dewitt88
04-16-2007, 03:03 PM
Vice Scrips (SP?) and some pb blaster??

cooter55
04-16-2007, 03:04 PM
tack weld a bolt on to it and use it?

alerored04
04-16-2007, 03:18 PM
if doing the vice grips and they wont hold try grinding a flat spot into the side so there is something to grab. Tacking a bolt to it would probably work best if you have access to a welder.

polo77
04-16-2007, 03:58 PM
9/16? thought it was a 15mm???

sjones419
04-16-2007, 08:14 PM
can someone confirm that for me? if its right ill feel like a a** and then will give another update

drumking1721
04-16-2007, 08:29 PM
i use 9/16,always works for me

alerored04
04-16-2007, 08:33 PM
i use a 15mm.

gectek
04-16-2007, 08:38 PM
it is a 15mm IIRC, and the vice grips should be fine, all bolts are metric

drumking1721
04-16-2007, 08:47 PM
i must be retarded then...

gectek
04-16-2007, 08:51 PM
srry all GM bolts on the GA are metric

traingeek087
04-16-2007, 09:05 PM
15mm

badboy2451
04-16-2007, 10:33 PM
15mm

cosign

03gagtbeast
04-16-2007, 11:57 PM
if it gets to be too much trouble just get out the old drill set and drill out the bolt, go to the parts store (or dealership which i recomend) and get a new oil pan bolt for a few bucks. it may sound ****y of me to say (and i dont mean to be) its best to work smart, not hard.


btw i suggest hammering on a smaller sized socket could result in damage to an aluminum oil pan

ancona46
04-17-2007, 03:46 PM
Its Def 15mm

sjones419
04-17-2007, 03:48 PM
a 13mm def worked for me, perfec fit, dont know why but it did.

ancona46
04-17-2007, 04:08 PM
probly cause it was so badly stripped....or maybe somebody changed the plug at some time