turn-signal problems [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : turn-signal problems


e-nizzle
05-13-2007, 11:30 AM
hey all, i figured it would be best to ask here before i went to any auto place to have them check it out. my turn-signals have random spurts of not working. no sound, no lights, nothing. i will engage them, and nothing will happen. luckily, it isn't constant. i had probably only been driving a total of 15 minutes, and went into an auto store. when i come out to turn onto the street, they don't work. i maybe drove for about 5 minutes, and then they worked fine again and didn't happen again that day. is it a fuse? has anyone else ever experienced this?

Sleepwalkr
05-13-2007, 12:02 PM
Sounds like it could be the issue a lot of us have had. Theres a how-to on the board here somewhere. Do a search for "Random clicking sound". Even if yours isn't clicking, its sounds like this ight still help you. It worked for me.

AznGA
05-13-2007, 12:22 PM
Replace the hazard signal switch right above the radio. That fixed the problem for me. It was about $10 at a dealer.

nympaix
05-13-2007, 12:49 PM
I had that replaced about 4 years ago and it still works intermittently....just works for frequently than they did before i had the switch replaced.

e-nizzle
05-13-2007, 01:03 PM
wasn't the hazzard switch a recall thing?

Ajaxus
05-13-2007, 01:43 PM
wasn't the hazzard switch a recall thing?

yes it was, go to the dealer. it was a recall because suddenly not having your blinkers work or the hazards could potentially cause an accident and potentially injury/death..hence why it is a recall. take it into a dealer, tell them what the problem is and that you know it was a recall, they can look it all up to check and they'll take care of the rest.

e-nizzle
05-13-2007, 03:17 PM
k thanks, i'll try to see if i can get my local dealer to check it out. does the recall have a "time limit" or anything like that? it wouldn't make sense if it did.

drumking1721
05-13-2007, 04:44 PM
i still havent taken mine in,when i have that problem i just hit the button and it works again,happens like once every couple days

e-nizzle
05-13-2007, 05:07 PM
you just hit the hazard light button then your lights reset?

nympaix
05-13-2007, 07:22 PM
same here....i just hit my hazards and they work again.

e-nizzle
05-13-2007, 07:43 PM
well i guess that's a quick way to solve the problem.

drumking1721
05-13-2007, 08:09 PM
Yea i mean....i dont consider it an issue,ill be driivng and signal,and im like opps they dont work,then i hit the button and it comes back on...

AznGA
05-13-2007, 08:44 PM
I think the recall is only for 01 and older models. Since the part was cheap, I didn't even bother.

drumking1721
05-13-2007, 09:05 PM
yea same here....just hit and go

iceman
05-13-2007, 09:37 PM
Welcome to the place.. have a read at the forum guidelines.. thanks