CAI and Waterlogging [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : CAI and Waterlogging

DomesticFreak
06-09-2007, 12:49 AM
I've got the ChromeIntakes eBay "Warm Air Intake" and now that the weather is warming up again, I'd like to get the CAI into the fender well. I'm just wondering though how big of a chance is there for a daily driver to get water logged? I have to drive in the rain. I can't just park the car when it rains. Like some of you know, I drive for a living, but this whole "warm air intake" thing is not cool. Literally.

I do have the K&N cone filter, but was thinking about switching over to the S&B or SB or whatever it is.

Thanks, and if I didn't search enough, my apologies.

Bryan
06-09-2007, 10:45 AM
I think the only way you can do that is if you drive through huge puddles. As long as you dodge the puddles, like you should anyways, you shouldn't have any problems. I just got my CAI and drove in reallly heavy rain for about 20 minutes and didn't come across any problems.

silverse
06-09-2007, 11:12 AM
I drive mine every day and dont have any problems. I would recomend not driving into puddles. For a fail safe theris an available shroud that coves the bottom of the filter, im not sure who sells it though.

kse73
06-09-2007, 11:40 AM
Hitting an underpass w/ a foot of water (had no choice) nearly wrecked my car. Be careful....thats all you can do.

pyro
06-09-2007, 12:43 PM
i have driven in a hurricane (yea bitches, i said it) with no problems. as long as you dont hit any superhuge puddles you will be in good shape.

Vampyrate
06-09-2007, 03:23 PM
in order for you to hydrolock your car, the filter has to be completely submerged. if you are that worried about hydrolocking you engine, get an AEM bypass valve that will turn your CAI into a SRI as soon as there is a decrease in air pressure in the piping from water log.