water in my engine?!? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : water in my engine?!?

OktaYneX
07-26-2007, 08:58 AM
Ok...I ran through a really deep puddle. It didnt look deep from a few feet away. My car stalled in the puddle, and this was last week. I finally got some time off, and decided to play with it today. I pulled out my dipstick, and it looked like caramel(sp) on it. I opened the oil cap, and it looked the same. Im told i sucked up a LOT of water, and thats how it got in there. It looks really thick. Im gonna try to take some pics. Nevertheless, I was wondering, could I have a blow head gasket. Im pretty new with this stuff, but I was under the impression that when the gasket blows, coolant and oil may mix causing the oil to look like that. Anyone know what might be up? Thanks in advance.

coupe
07-26-2007, 09:28 AM
Sounds to me you have a LIM leak.

Run a search on that.

2004grandamgt
07-26-2007, 09:38 AM
ya intake leak

PhantomLover007
07-26-2007, 12:15 PM
If you blew you gasket or cracked a head, the coolant leak would cause the exhaust to produce a cloud of white smoke, if driven long enough. The the engine would be extremely sluggish and cut off a lot. I had that happen to me when I had my '88 LeMans.

99gav6
07-26-2007, 03:14 PM
When my car had a blown gasket and cracked head you could definitely smell the coolant through the exhaust and could see it drip. Anyway what kind of "puddle" do you go through that causes your car to suck up water?

OktaYneX
07-26-2007, 08:51 PM
When my car had a blown gasket and cracked head you could definitely smell the coolant through the exhaust and could see it drip. Anyway what kind of "puddle" do you go through that causes your car to suck up water?

It was about 3 feet deep, 20 feet wide. It didnt look that big. What sucked is was I was on my way home from the food store...all my frozen **** melted.