strange shhhh sound,under hood,help. [Archive] - Forum

View Full Version : strange shhhh sound,under hood,help.

08-03-2007, 06:19 PM
hi, i have a 2003 GT,the car runs great, but there is a strange sound when i give a little gas.sort of like when to tell someone thats makin noise shhhhhh !!sounds like it could be the belt or i am thinkin a pulley.when it idles i hardly hear anything.then gas i hear the usual exhaust tone,and with the throttle ,even slightly a shhhh.its hard to gonna get it checked out, but i thought i would get any clues first,before i get anything done.the sound seems to come from the front passenger is not really really loud but noticeable.,

08-03-2007, 06:25 PM
Do you have a gatorback serpentine belt? If so, that could possibly be the culprit.

08-03-2007, 06:27 PM
not really sure ,im not good at these things,its like a dry sound like something needs oiling or something.

08-03-2007, 07:13 PM
maybe its a vacuum leak? one time i found a PCV tube was cracked and it made a sound like that

08-03-2007, 08:04 PM
i will probably get it checked out soon,its just an annoying little sound.thanks anyway,its kinda hard to could be that,then again i dont know too much about these things.i hope i dont get raped,sort of the repair shop.wish me luck !!i will update this when it is done,unless i have to sell an arm and leg to pay for it.

08-06-2007, 02:19 PM
actually guys, i think it could be comin from the exhaust system maybe. when i open my door and try to listen under my seat area,shhhhh sound as i call it,is slightly there,but with a little gas,the annoying noise is a bit louder.mind you it is not a really gross sound ,just a sound that shoulnt be there i believe.i had a 2004 SE -v6 before,and never made this wierd kinda sounds like the sound of air comin out of a tire, well,sort of.anybody think it could be exhaust related.i hope not.exhaust problems usually cost me between 300- 500 it is something else,its something thats really eating me up.!!