Hard shift into drive problem. [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Hard shift into drive problem.


GT_turbo
08-11-2007, 10:59 AM
I just got done putting the turbo on, and when I shift my car from park into drive it shifts hard. It take a sec and then in jerks. This is at a complete stop with an idle RPM. I didn't know if there was a vaccum line I didn't hook up somewhere along the line. Anyone else ever had this problem???

silvergtjrad
08-11-2007, 12:04 PM
maf plugged in?

kuecker_dj09
08-11-2007, 12:13 PM
i have the same problem..its fine when i go from park to reverse. but when i go from either park or neutral to drive it does jerk. and yes my MAF is plugged in

GT_turbo
08-11-2007, 01:07 PM
Yeah mines plugged in, this is really wierd. Feels like its gunna tear the tranny apart if you do it enough.

Cnix16
02-17-2009, 10:00 PM
Anyone know the cause of this? It just started on my 99 and I can't afford my tranny to die right now. Thanks

angrysk8r
02-17-2009, 10:05 PM
if the maf is plugged in and working the next thing to check would be if the coolant temp sensor is plugged in

ga2001gt532
02-17-2009, 10:33 PM
mine does that once in a while to but it seems like it does it only when cold and when i for some reason let off the brake right before i click it into drive.

Nick M
02-17-2009, 10:58 PM
Is the SES light on? A bad Intake Air Temp (IAT) sensor will cause the condition you are describing but the SES light would be on if this was the case.

Cnix16
02-18-2009, 10:35 AM
Thanks guys, just got back from autozone because I had a check engine light. P0102 = MAF, VAF low input, also a miss fire code. I'll check the MAF sensor. I wouldn't think the MAF would have anything to do with the tranny. I'll keep you updated.

Grandamgtblk99
02-18-2009, 10:44 AM
Thanks guys, just got back from autozone because I had a check engine light. P0102 = MAF, VAF low input, also a miss fire code. I'll check the MAF sensor. I wouldn't think the MAF would have anything to do with the tranny. I'll keep you updated.



If the MAF isn't working, the computer reverts to full trannsmission line pressure.

Cnix16
02-18-2009, 11:12 AM
good to know! Well, all the wires are connected, and i don't know how to tell if the MAF is bad. I found this thread http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9001&highlight=iat+replace
and it seems as if there is a relatively good chance that it is the IAT sensor. I'm in a college town and am worried about taking it to the GM dealer here because the will kill me on price.

Grandamgtblk99
02-18-2009, 11:19 AM
even if its not the IAT Im pretty sure its like $25 for the part. If you're right then good your fixed for cheap. If not you only threw $25 at it.

Cnix16
02-18-2009, 01:15 PM
Will water damage the MAF? I believe this all started on a really rainy day. This meaning, my CAI may have taken in some water....just trying to trouble shoot still. I appreciate all the help.

Nick M
02-18-2009, 04:36 PM
A decent scanner will display sensor data. Check what temperature the IAT sensor is reading. The wiring going to the IAT seems to be on the delicate side. The sensor may be fine and the problem can be a break in the wire on the connector side.

madmike77
02-18-2009, 04:40 PM
yes moisture will cause your iat sensor to act funny just buy a new one i paid $30 for mine at the dealer

Cnix16
02-19-2009, 08:18 PM
Just an update: I took my CAI apart, took a look at the MAF and IAT sensors. They looked good and I let them sit inside for a little bit, then converted my Cold air intake into a warm air intake just incase i had to take it all apart again (MAF easier to remove)...anyway SES light turned itself off and she is running great. Thanks for all of your help!!! Its been a couple years haha.