Can't Remove Factory Head Unit - Myth? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Can't Remove Factory Head Unit - Myth?


vtkremlin
10-09-2007, 07:46 PM
All:

When I installed my Kenwood head unit (KDC579) I was told that you had to keep the factory head unit in the car to preserve many of GM's stock features such as keyless entry, delayed power-off, and some other crap.

Is this complete BS or not? Right now, my old head unit is wired back to the trunk. (Bought a cable specifically designed for this)

If i remove the factory head unit, what do I lose?

Myth, or not?

Thanks!

P.S. Are the front speakers connected to the monsoon amp or not? (I thought only the rear speakers were)

Mirage85
10-10-2007, 05:13 AM
There are several different methods of retaining the factory chimes, and that is the dumbest one of them. They make a wiring harness specifically for our cars because of this, but its like $80.

www.crutchfield.com

Tonyyank
10-10-2007, 08:13 AM
you'll lose chimes thats it.............

vtkremlin
10-10-2007, 08:57 AM
I dont even want the chimes. =)

I actually did not wire the speakers for that specific purpose. If this is the case, I am very happy and very ready to remove that big plastic hunk of crap from my trunk.

WeibSunder
01-01-2008, 10:39 AM
I know someone with a Chevy Cavi that had to keep their stock HU hooked up to keep their car running, but the GA you don't have to. You can buy a chime unit from Schoshe or however you spell it from Wal-Mart for like $15.

SSRacer
01-01-2008, 05:33 PM
I haven't had chimes for years now. No big loss.

stewartfn18
01-01-2008, 09:54 PM
same here. i havent had chimes since i bought the car a little over a year ago. Not a big loss. As for the front speakers, i beleive they are wired to the amp.

DonP
01-11-2008, 05:31 PM
wtf!

Ajaxus
01-11-2008, 05:44 PM
congrats on bringin back a dead thread matt.. :(

WeibSunder
01-13-2008, 12:36 PM
congrats on bringin back a dead thread matt.. :(

Ty, I try.