4 quarts versus 5quarts of oil [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : 4 quarts versus 5quarts of oil


nickofcourse
10-12-2007, 09:50 AM
how come the 3400 uses 4 quarts of oil, and the 2.2 uses 5 quarts? you would think the bigger engine would use more oil.

PhantomLover007
10-12-2007, 12:21 PM
Smaller oil pan due to larger engine size maybe?? I dunno.

llsht14
10-12-2007, 12:25 PM
if i put 5 quarts in my grand am 3400 would it make it tick?

Metallman56
10-12-2007, 02:03 PM
2.4l is 4 quarts

3.4l is 4.5 quarts.

i hate that. i wish it were an even number.

Exodus
10-12-2007, 02:04 PM
if i put 5 quarts in my grand am 3400 would it make it tick?

You suck at life

nickofcourse
10-12-2007, 02:06 PM
my owners manual for 2004 says 5 and 4 qurts.

hass
10-12-2007, 02:25 PM
if i put 5 quarts in my grand am 3400 would it make it tick?

Can we get an answer to this other than you suck at life?

I'm wondering the same.
I put 4.5Q in my 3400, and now it ticks pretty hardcore.

llsht14
10-12-2007, 02:26 PM
yea i put 5 in and now it ticks pretty good. im wondering if that might be a reason

onesexyga
10-12-2007, 02:28 PM
If youre that worried, for starters, why dont you get it out? Drain out a little then fill it right, checking and adding as you go.

llsht14
10-12-2007, 02:29 PM
well i was just wondering if any of you with way more experence with ga's then me would know off hand to save me time.

atc3434
10-12-2007, 02:38 PM
New oil is likely to make the motor tick as its quite a bit thinner than the crap you just drained out. I always notice more engine noise after a recent oil change, goes away after a while. If you way overfilled the oil, you could get lots of aireation, which could cause some lifter collapsing, you'd definetly get ticking from that. I don't think filing to 5 quarts would cause that though....

llsht14
10-12-2007, 02:41 PM
thank you very much for the (useful) reply. Yeah it seems like its only really noisy when it first starts and the motor is still cold.

stewartfn18
10-12-2007, 02:51 PM
First of all, the 3400 takes 4.5 qts of oil to fill it to the max on the dipstick. The eco tec takes about 5 quarts to fill to it to the max on the dipstick because its a dohc which reqires more lubrication than an engine with the cam in the block. As for the ticking, if you change your oil it shiould go away. It will tick when its cold but when it warms up, it should go away.

Mike Jung
10-12-2007, 06:32 PM
Yeah it seems like its only really noisy when it first starts and the motor is still cold.
What oil filter & what motor oil ?

(Yeah, I know I sound like a broken down record...)

Maybe, you need a oil filter with a functioning/better anti-drainback valve.

Fram, & Fram made oil filters need not apply lol
Nothing like dry cold starts; 1st thing in the morning :rolleyes:

Sprucegagt
10-12-2007, 11:44 PM
First of all, the 3400 takes 4.5 qts of oil to fill it to the max on the dipstick. The eco tec takes about 5 quarts to fill to it to the max on the dipstick because its a dohc which reqires more lubrication than an engine with the cam in the block. As for the ticking, if you change your oil it shiould go away. It will tick when its cold but when it warms up, it should go away.

That makes no sense. There are plenty of other engines with the cam in the block that require 5 quarts or more. Personally I think ground clearance is the reason why that .5 quart is missing.

lone_wolf025
10-13-2007, 12:00 AM
Last oil change I used 5 quarts, including the bit I put into the filter before installing it. Hasn't hurt anything or caused ticking. Actually the oil level has dropped a little since I filled it, as I would expect to see. I should check it again come to think of it...

silvergtjrad
10-13-2007, 07:42 AM
Just get a larger oil filter and you can add that extra .5 quart so you guys can put in a full 5 quarts instead of whining about having to try and eyeball half a quart out of a bottle.

stewartfn18
10-13-2007, 04:52 PM
That makes no sense. There are plenty of other engines with the cam in the block that require 5 quarts or more. Personally I think ground clearance is the reason why that .5 quart is missing.

tell me what GM V6 takes mor than 5 qts. of oil then, besides the ones that go in the trucks.
3.1=4.5qts
3.4=4.5qts
3.5=4.5qts
3.6=4.5qts
3.8=4.5qts
3.9=4.5qts

Sprucegagt
10-13-2007, 05:21 PM
tell me what GM V6 takes mor than 5 qts. of oil then, besides the ones that go in the trucks.
3.1=4.5qts
3.4=4.5qts
3.5=4.5qts
3.6=4.5qts
3.8=4.5qts
3.9=4.5qts

3.8 does take 5 quarts along with the GM V6's that go into trucks. Yes there is a difference between the 3800 and 3.8 engines.

But you didn't say GM V6.

The eco tec takes about 5 quarts to fill to it to the max on the dipstick because its a dohc which reqires more lubrication than an engine with the cam in the block.

That's a blanket statement for all cam in block engines, thus why it doesn't make any sense.

nate2023
10-13-2007, 08:15 PM
2.2 Ecotech takes 5 Qts
3.1, 3.4, and 3.8 takes 4.6
I work at an oil change place.

hass
10-13-2007, 10:30 PM
What oil filter & what motor oil ?

What type is suggested?
I'm using a FRAM High Mileage filter.
I used Uhm.. Quaker State 10W-30 High Mileage in the summer.

Now I just switched to Castrol GTX 5W-30 High Mileage for the winter.

same brand oil filter every time.
I get worse ticking after this oil change.
But when it warms up it goes away.

Malaclypse
10-14-2007, 02:37 AM
Use an AC-Delco PF 52 and run 5 qts of the oil of your choice.

The Fram filter is partially a cause of the ticking due to its crap anti-drainback valve and paper end-caps.

Mike Jung
10-14-2007, 09:19 PM
What oil filter & what motor oil ?

(Yeah, I know I sound like a broken down record...)

Maybe, you need a oil filter with a functioning/better anti-drainback valve.

Fram, & Fram made oil filters need not apply lol
Nothing like dry cold starts; 1st thing in the morning :rolleyes:

What type is suggested?
I'm using a FRAM High Mileage filter.
I used Uhm.. Quaker State 10W-30 High Mileage in the summer.

Now I just switched to Castrol GTX 5W-30 High Mileage for the winter.

same brand oil filter every time.
I get worse ticking after this oil change.
But when it warms up it goes away.

Use an AC-Delco PF 52 and run 5 qts of the oil of your choice.

The Fram filter is partially a cause of the ticking due to its crap anti-drainback valve and paper end-caps.
^
x2

My personal preference is:
Wix / NAPA Gold / Carquest Premium Blue oil filters
(nicely designed silicone anti-drainback valve.)

But you could use (stock size) an AC Delco PF-47 oil filter, also.

But I like to use an over-sized equivalent of an AC Delco PF-52 oil filter.

Mike Jung
10-14-2007, 09:25 PM
PS: What is this US Quarts nonsense ? ;) lol

1 US Quart = 946.352946 mL = about 0.946 L

4.5 US Quarts = 4259 mL = 4.259 L

5 US Quarts = 4732 mL = 4.732 L


I buy Castrol Syntec 0W-30 by the (L) litre bottles.

fo44rd
10-19-2007, 06:05 PM
New oil is likely to make the motor tick as its quite a bit thinner than the crap you just drained out. I always notice more engine noise after a recent oil change, goes away after a while. If you way overfilled the oil, you could get lots of aireation, which could cause some lifter collapsing, you'd definetly get ticking from that. I don't think filing to 5 quarts would cause that though....

A big reason, at least to me is NOBODY prefills the oil filter, so when you start your car for the first time after an oil change there is ZERO oil pressure for many second before the oil filter fills and pressurizes. I alway prefill the oil filter and have 32,000 on mine and still no ticking or piston slap. I do mine every 2,000 miles or 6 monthes whichever comes up first.



just my 2 cents

digitalballz
10-19-2007, 06:13 PM
The 3.4 in the equinox takes only 4 quarts. I was reading a TSB on alldata the other day. As for prefilling the oil filter.... who cares about a couple of seconds when your car is going to have over 100k miles on it. think about it. its like saying if you dont take this pill before you eat everyday you will lose 1 hour of your life at the very end.

fo44rd
10-19-2007, 06:17 PM
The 3.4 in the equinox takes only 4 quarts. I was reading a TSB on alldata the other day. As for prefilling the oil filter.... who cares about a couple of seconds when your car is going to have over 100k miles on it. think about it. its like saying if you dont take this pill before you eat everyday you will lose 1 hour of your life at the very end.

It just that tiny little step and it only takes a minute. If thats all it takes to keep from hearing ticking at idle for the whole time I own it, I find that minute or two spent at every oil change well worth it.

digitalballz
10-22-2007, 07:30 PM
I guess on your own car MAYBE... But I do them all day and just want them out of my life as soon as possible so every second counts!!

fo44rd
10-22-2007, 11:43 PM
I guess on your own car MAYBE... But I do them all day and just want them out of my life as soon as possible so every second counts!!

LOL.....


.......and that is exactly why I lay on the ground and do them myself. Well that and the fact that every mechanic that does an oil change feels the need to torque the living hell out of the drainplug and filter. The torque spec on either or both of these runs right in the 15 foot pound range.